Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:26 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: To Upgrade My DELL PRECISION 690 or BUILD New or BUY New
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:19 pm 

To start with, one thing I have been missing the past 3 to 4 years with Maximum PC is guidance/Information/Coverage of 'WORKSTATIONS'. I live on mine!

To buy a fully loaded workstation is expensive, like $7,000 plus dollars. I own a DELL Precision 690, which when new was awesome. It is now 4 1/2 years old. I am a Product designer with my primary tool being SolidWorks 2011 w/ Simulation and then Photoshop, Illustrator, MS Office. The PC doesn't seem to be as fast as it was new, but then for me all PC's are too slow. I am often running all these apps at the same time.

I am trying to figure out if I can get a 'really noticeable' performance improvement by upgrading components on my workstation. I am adept at building PC's so I am not afraid to swap anything out.

Here is my configuration:
Processor: 2 - Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5345 @ 2.33GHz Clock Speed 2.4GHz L2 Cache Size 8192
Memory: 8GB DDR2 PC2-5300
Graphics: NVIDIA QUADRO FX 4500 512MB
MOTHERBOARD: ?? DELL site won't tell me
Primary HD: WDC WD1002FAEX-0 Caviar Black
Windows 7-x64 Business

I like the ease of access into the DELL CASE so I'm good with the case.
The motherboard is outdated and limiting however I don't know what I have or what options I have for upgrading within the Dell case.

I don't mind spending substantial money on this if it is worth it but at the same time cheaper that buying a new workstation.

Advice on either upgrading what I have or building new would be be so much appreciated.

Post subject: Re: To Upgrade My DELL PRECISION 690 or BUILD New or BUY New
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:21 am 
Team Member*
Team Member*