Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 8:07 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 123 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:41 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 6:12 am
Posts: 139
Location: Las Vegas, NV
depends on the card. for ATI cards I really like ATITOOL. for NVidia cards i like Cool Bits.....good stuff there.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 5:35 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
How do you remove the front part of the case on the Coolermaster Centurion 5?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:25 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
O.K., I got everything in I haven't started it yet, but I still have a few questions. When I was trying to put that very large ATI Radeon X850XT in I opened too many PCI slots and I can't get them back on, there are about four slots open, will this affect my airflow? Also, I scraped myself a couple of times and bled a little on the motherboard will this mess it up? I'm excited about to start it up, just have to bring the monitor in. :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 7:31 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
Well, I plugged everything in the monitor worked, but the fans in the case were going on and off. Nothing showed on the monitor. I'm not sure what's wrong, but I'll keep checking the cables, much help would be appreciated. Thanks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 2:36 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
O.K., I think I got the computer itself working because when I press the power switch all the fans turn on and I'm pretty sure the really loud fan is the ATI Radeon X850XT. The only problem I have is that nothing is coming up on the monitor, I have it connected to the graphics card and everything, but it just stays in the "off" mode after I turn everything on, "off" mode is like hibernate or a screensaver, but nothing comes up. I'm nt sure what is worng, any suggestions? The problem witht urning it on was that i didn't ahve the power switch connected to the right place I'm pretty sure.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:15 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 5108
Location: RFC 1149 - Pidgeon Network
Tin Can Man wrote:
and bled a little on the motherboard


been there done that :)

hmm - did you plug the monitor into the right output? Not sure if it displays on both at start.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:25 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
Lol. Well, yeah I'm pretty sure that the monitor is plugged into the right slot I plugged it into the blue slot directly and the other slot with an adapter or something on it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:39 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 5108
Location: RFC 1149 - Pidgeon Network
did you plug the molex line to the card? if so, was a a seperate line just for the card? (not sure if it applies to this card actually)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:47 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
There was a line that came witht the card for PCI Express, but there is also a line that was included with the PSU that was PCI express should I use the line that came with the PSU or the card. But I'm pretty sure it's recieving power because the fan turns on, but I'll try the line that came with the PSU.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:02 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
It seems that the signal cable in the graphics card slot is connected properly to the monitor because when I disconnect it the monitor says "signal cable disconnected" or something along the lines of that. Maybe one of the other parts isn't functioning right.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:37 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 5108
Location: RFC 1149 - Pidgeon Network
Tin Can Man wrote:
There was a line that came witht the card for PCI Express, but there is also a line that was included with the PSU that was PCI express should I use the line that came with the PSU or the card. But I'm pretty sure it's recieving power because the fan turns on, but I'll try the line that came with the PSU.


if you mean there was a molex to pci-e adapter vs a dedicated pci-e line from the psu, use the pci-e line from the psu.

you're not hearing any beeps or anything are you?

how much what's your psu's power rating?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 5:05 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
Well, I'll try using the dedicated PCI-E line from the PSU, the line that came with the card was a split that also connected to the hard drive. I'm not hearing anything, but fans, however, if I plugged a kepyboard into the USB portwould it detect it immediately because I turned the computer on and then pressed the NUM lock key and nothing happened on the keyboard indicator. My PSU rating is 520 w.

OCZ PowerStream


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 5:15 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
I gave the Hard Drive and the graphics card their own separate lines and it doesn't seem to have made a difference. The Power LED comes on when I start the computer, but the Hard Drive LED doesn't is their a reason for this? I have an SATA hard drive and there is a big power connector specifically for SATA I'll connect that, but I'm not sure it will make a difference.

Maxtor HD


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 5:48 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
dmanit I keep hitting this button on the inside of the case on the motherboard that resets and puts poer into the motherboard or somin and then the fans will go on for a second and then turn off and it will keep doing this i don't kno why this keeps happening, but this is like the 3rd time and its pissing me off, i dont kno how i fixed it last time. how do i get this undone or w/e?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 6:50 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:32 pm
Posts: 26
I had the same problem with mine. Are you using Dual channel memory? If so make sure they are in the right slots 1 and 3 (thats how it was on mine). Also tidy up the cords and check the connections. And make sure everythings right side up. I put my dvd buner in upside down first time i did it. And make sure if you use the molex adapters that you plug both of them in.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 7:04 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
What problem are you reffering to? The fans and lights going on and off or the monitor not connecting with the graphics card right? Right now I'm trying to figure out what went wrong with the power/reset buttons? I ahve my memory in dual-channel and tidying up my cords is almost impossible, it's a mess. I shoved them all in the empty corner where my CD drive is. What do you mean by your comment on the molex adapters?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:02 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
Sorry, but by the way I forgot to say that there is no audio whatsoever installed currently. The onboard audio would not fit because of a fan, and I have not yet gone out to get an Audigy card. How do I get my signature to show right below my messages? It includes all of my computer information.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:05 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
Well, this motherboard is really starting to get on ym nerves so I think I'm going to return it and find a new one. Any suggestions?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 6:01 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
MSI K8N Neo4 Ultra


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 6:15 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 90
How about this motherboard? I'm concerned that the onboard audio or other port will interfere with the fan in the rear of my case as the audio with my other motherboard did.

ASUS A8N SLI-Deluxe Motherboard


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 123 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.