Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:42 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Hitting a very low ceiling
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:14 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Ok I've been reading up on overclocking -- how to do it and how it works and I decided to give it a go. I'll go ahead and give my specs then ask my question(s).
Mobo: SOYO Dragon2 V1.0
Proc: P4 2.4c
RAM: Kingston ValueRAM DDR400 Dualchannel (256x2)
PSU: generic 350W came with my Aspire case
Ok, my default CAS settings are 3-3-3-8 (@200MHz). The multiplier is 12x on the P4 2.4c. I understand how 12x200 gets me 2400, so thru the BIOS I adjusted my FSB to 201, then 202 and had no problems. I was at 2424MHz and I rebooted and tried 203FSB. The system took extra long to boot up, and gave me a Hard Disk Boot error. I hit continue and it tried to boot from LAN. So I went to the BIOS and bumped the FSB back down to 202, and my pc booted fine. Anyways, since I'm somewhat new to this, I'm asking what should I do to get my 203FSB to work? And why am I hitting such a low ceiling? (I know I have cheap ram, not great PSU, and average mobo, should I upgrade?)
I'm also curious, why would someone want to underclock their RAM? I'm referring to changing the CAS settings from 3-3-3-8 (@200MHz) to 2.5-3-3-7 (@166MHz) or to 2-2-2-6 (@133MHz). Can anyone explain to me what the advantages/disadvantages are to using the lower CAS settings?

TIA,
Josh
BTW this is for a college project (I'm supposed to learn about overclocking and I want to try it too)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:28 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*

ram, RAM RRRAAAAMMMM. value ram isnt made to run even 1mhz above its rating. forget about it. if you want to OC get some better ram. if you want to put more money in it then get a new mobo, and if you still have some more get a good CPU Heatsink/fan

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:34 pm 
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us