Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Would this be a fine upgrade?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:15 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 9:43 am
Posts: 8
I have finally decided to upgrade my mobo/cpu. My computer is really dated and I figured that this would be a good boost. I have had this computer for around 3 years and have performed little upgrade meaning gpu/case/psu.
Current rig
Case: antec 900
PSU: antec 600w
GPU: nvidia geforce 8600gt
HDD: Seagate 200GB(forgot the exact model)

Im currently using a AMD 64x2 3800+ cpu. I plan on upgrade my mobo/cpu/ and ram.
Mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813128421
cpu: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819115215
ram: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820231208

Yes ram is not top of the line but I just wanted a cheap set of DDR3.
Any thoughts? Could there be compatibility issues with the HDD and its age?
Computer is mostly used for internet browsing, compiling programs(JAVA/c++) usually not that big), and some minor games (SC2, and older games)
Also Ill be upgrading my gpu soon also once I come up with the money, but I would like to knock this out of the way.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Would this be a fine upgrade?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 12:13 am 
Team Member*
Team Member*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 1982
Location: FL
Overall that will work but, let me say the only thing that bothers me is the fact that you would only have 2G of ram, IF you can afford it 4G would be better. I don't think you will have HDD compatibility issues except for space limitations you can pick up 500GB and 1TB drives on the cheap now a days and wouldn't be a bad choice when the money flows in the right direction.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Would this be a fine upgrade?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 8:37 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 11:25 am
Posts: 492
Location: Two Rivers, WI
I agree with wikid, 4gb of ram is pretty much minimum these days. And ram is so cheap, so why not?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.