Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:06 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: A64 3500+ OC thread!!
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 5:31 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:50 pm
Posts: 1344
Location: Illinois
The A64 seems to be a very popular CPU so here is a thread devoted to 3500+'s.
To all the 3500+ owners out there:
Please copy and paste the questions below and answer them.

use a question mark for what you don't know

only for 3500+'s

Mobo:
Core(newcastle or winchester):
Speed:
Bus:
Multiplier:
Voltage:
Cooling:
Ram(speed ie:DDR400@stock):
Latency(memory timings):
Idle temps(C):
Load temps(C):

u can use CPUID to find most of this stuff out


Last edited by sflshooter on Sun Jan 30, 2005 5:37 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 5:34 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:50 pm
Posts: 1344
Location: Illinois
example(mine)(no OCing yet) :wink:

Mobo:MSI K8N neo2 platinum
Core(newcastle or winchester):newcastle
Speed: 2200
Bus: 200
Multiplier: 11
Voltage: 1.5
Cooling: air, stock
Ram(speed ie:DDR400@stock): DDR400
Latency(memory timings): 2-2-2-5
Idle temps(C): 42
Load temps(C): ?

EDIT- Im hoping to learn from this thread so i can OC


Last edited by sflshooter on Sun Jan 30, 2005 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 6:30 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 2:16 pm
Posts: 74
sorry to break the thread, but slfshooter... this is OCs only :)
i'm gonna post my scores here even tho i dun have a 3500... shoot me ;)

Mobo: Abit AV8
Core: winchester
Speed: 3200 @ 2.55
Bus: 255
Multiplier: 10
Voltage: 1.575
Cooling: TT PIPE101 with 92 mm silentcat
Ram(speed ie:DDR400@stock): DDR333 x 255: DDR425
Latency(memory timings): 2.5-3-3-8
Idle temps(C): 48
Load temps(C): 65


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:34 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 7:27 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Columbia, MO Posts: 1,000,000
Pre-overclock. I will edit when I get better RAM.

Mobo: MSI-K8TNeo2
Core: Newcastle
Speed: 2.2GHz
Bus: 200MHz
Multiplier: 11
Voltage: 1.5V
Cooling: Air (stock)
Ram: DDR400
RAM timings: 3-3-3-8
Idle temps(C): 40
Load temps(C): ~48-49

*edited because Idling temp was wrong


Last edited by MarkyMark on Tue Feb 01, 2005 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:46 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:56 am
Posts: 450
Location: MN
The core is stable up to FSB:240(maybe higher thats just where I stopped :))
But I like my low RAM timings so this is what I run for gaming and what not.

Mobo:Asus A8V
Core(newcastle or winchester):newcastle
Speed:2409
Bus:219
Multiplier:11
Voltage:~1.55-1.6 I dont remember and Im not at home
Cooling:coolermaster Hyper 48
Ram(speed ie:DDR400@stock):DDR400
Latency(memory timings):2-2-2-5
Idle temps(C):30
Load temps(C):48


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 2:05 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:33 am
Posts: 258
Location: Living in Guild Wars
Since not a lot of people are posting their 3500+'s just for fun I thought I'd post my old Dell specs:
Mobo: Dimension 4300 (circa 2001)
Core(newcastle or winchester): Willamette
Speed: 1495.2
Bus: 99.7 MHz
Multiplier: 15.0
Voltage: hrm, probably less than 3V, not sure tho
Cooling: Dell's weird stock cooling
Ram(speed ie:DDR400@stock): SDRAM PC133
Latency(memory timings):3-3-3-6
temps(C): lol the only thing that has a sensor on it is my HDD, so...
HDD temp(C): 38 (idle)
-----------------------------
Well, there you have it, my Dell clearly outperforms all of your 3500s. :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:04 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:50 pm
Posts: 1344
Location: Illinois
do you think i could get my 3500+ newcastle, bus up to 219Mhz on stock cooling and be ok?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:59 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:56 am
Posts: 450
Location: MN
I had mine running at 219 with my stock HSF but temps unter load were around 60, that was a little to hot for me


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 10:06 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 1176
The core is stable up to FSB:255

Mobo:Asus A8V
Core(newcastle or winchester):Winchester
Speed:2300
Bus:260
Multiplier:9
Voltage:~1.45-1.5
Cooling:Stock HSF
Ram(speed ie:DDR400@stock):425MHz
Latency(memory timings):2-3-2-5 (I think)
Idle temps(C):~37 - 39
Load temps(C):~54 - 57

It's a 3000+, but it's running faster than the 3500+ anyway :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 10:43 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Just a quick comment for those of you running your A64 procs at 2-2-2-5, you'll actually get better performance at by setting your tRAS to 10 (2-2-2-10).

AnandTech
"We have found the fastest performance on AMD Athlon 64 chipsets (nForce3, VIA K8T800 PRO) to be achieved at Cycle Time or tRAS of 10. Athlon 64 platform benchmarks were, therefore, run with the tRAS timing of 10 for all A64 benchmarks."

XBitLabs
"Note that we increased the Cycle Time (Tras) timing of Athlon 64 to 10, because according to our experience, the memory controller of Athlon 64 processor works more efficiently in this mode, than in case this setting equals 5."

There was an article that explained this more in depth, but I'm having trouble finding it at the moment.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 5:32 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:50 pm
Posts: 1344
Location: Illinois
One4, thanks, do you OC?
You also have an MSI K8N neo2 board don't you?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:42 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
sflshooter wrote:
One4, thanks, do you OC?
You also have an MSI K8N neo2 board don't you?


Of course I overclock, where's the fun at running at stock? :P

As far as my system, I had a K8N/FX-53 combo but sold it. I'm looking to move to nForce4 but am currently just sitting my upgrade funds. I basically have everything except for the mobo and video card. Once prices and availability settle, I'll move forward.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:21 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 4:46 pm
Posts: 858
yeah, kinda wondering since i am looking at a 3500+ winchester and nforce4 mobo, i was wondering if it be possable to get fx55 speeds on air (thermalright xp90)

and if so, how stable mite that be, for future reference


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:12 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 1176
Changing them did nothing for me last night :-\


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 10:37 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Kybo_Ren wrote:
Changing them did nothing for me last night :-\


It's going to do 'something,' you're just not likely to notice it. Test your memory bandwidth at 2-2-2-5 and 2-2-2-10, then compare the results.

SiSoft Sandra


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 10:47 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 1176
My memory defaults to 8 anyway. I run it at 8 and it goes just fine right now.

I changed the LDT multiplier and got up to 2.55, 2.6 unstable.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 10:50 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Kybo_Ren wrote:
My memory defaults to 8 anyway. I run it at 8 and it goes just fine right now.


lol, alrighty then. As mentioned however, 2-2-2-10 will yield the best performance results on an A64 platform (for those *interested*).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 1:32 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:38 pm
Posts: 786
Memory timing... 1t or 2t? What's the dif?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 2:27 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
1t and 2t refer to the command rate. If your RAM can handle it, it's highly desireable from a performance standpoint to run 1t. If you're overclocking, however, you'll have to balance that decision with how far you can stably push your system.

There's a pretty good article on Anandtech that delves into RAM. When you have the time, give the whole thing a read. Until then, I'll link the appropriate page:

Memory Article


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:35 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:45 am
Posts: 581
A big thanks for the work others did, Ill just use their templet. :)

Mobo:Asus A8N-SLI
Core(newcastle or winchester):Winchester
Speed:2600
Bus:235
Multiplier:11
Voltage:~1.475
Cooling:Zalman 7000cuF
Ram(speed ie:DDR400@stock):235MHz (470)
Latency(memory timings):2-2-2-5
Idle temps(C):~30c
Load temps(C):~44c


Here is a pic of the CPU/GPU under load, and the settings. I can do 240FSB@1:1 2-2-5, but have to up the volts to 1.5, so I just keep it where it is. I havent tried to find the max overclock, but it didnt strugle at 240fsb (2.64gig). Perhaps Ill try to raise it more, or even lower the multiplier.

I will try that memory change One4yu2c, thanks for the link.

edit, just tried it, and I got besically the exact same result, just one point higher when it had 10 instead of 5.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group