Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: overclocking a amd athalon 1800
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:34 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:30 am
Posts: 2
Location: massachusetts
hey anyone ever overclock a amd athalon 1800, im kinda new to this and i want to try it, i read somewhere that it can be done up to 1.7ghz with just a copper heatsink ad fan but i dont know how, can someone help me i dont want to melt down my machine.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:32 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:42 am
Posts: 723
Location: 41° 22' 14.12"N 72° 55' 07.40"W
first of all we are gonna need some specs.....Especially what mobo your running...most good boards will have CPU overheating protection.. The few basic things you are going to need to remember is to step your settings up gradually. 1mhz at a time....This can be very time consuming.. Testing the proccessor should be done with each notch.. I like to run pc mark a few times after stepping it up to give the proccessor a load... Also if you have a good motherboard it may come with software to monitor your temperatures.. the sweet spot tends to be around 40c....


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: overclocing amd athalon xp 1800
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:34 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:30 am
Posts: 2
Location: massachusetts
its a soyo k7vtapro-2aa6 with a 300 watt ps, nvidia geforce 2 ultra, 40 gig 7200 rpm drive and a dvd/cd combo drive.

it has 512 pc 133 sdrm 4 memory

its an old but but its functional


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:02 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:42 am
Posts: 723
Location: 41° 22' 14.12"N 72° 55' 07.40"W
ok the bad news is that your board is one of the first to really have any overclocking features. Basically all you have to do is go into your setup utility/Bios....In here you will be able to increase Multiplier and the frontside bus frequency. when your stepping up the Front side bus make sure you do it one step at a time.. You do have CPU overheating protection which is good.. I provided a link below for your motherboards manual.. In there they explain your overheating protection and how to make sure its set.. now the bad thing is that you have no way of monitoring your temperatures from windows so you'll need to go into the bios to check your temps after overclocking. The best thing to do is let the computer run at idle in the bios screen after stepping it up for about 5 to 10 minutes to see what the temp reads.. just remeber thats idle temp so when you put stress on the CPU it will rise at least 5 degrees.. try to stay away from 50c...and good luck.....

http://www.soyogroup.com/dl/manuals/k7/mk7vtapro14.pdf


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group