Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 3:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I need help buying some RAM
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:52 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:18 pm
Posts: 69
Location: The Yay
Hi guys, I need more RAM do to editing software (plug-ins). What type of RAM should I get?

Operation System:
Windows 7 64-bit Service Pack 1

CHIPSET:
Rampage Formula
X48

Processor:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650
Socket 775 LGA

Current Ram:
DDR2 Kingston 1066 Native(PC3-6400 "800Mhz") 4GB


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I need help buying some RAM
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:07 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9257
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
you can do what I did, go on ebay and check for ram that is the same as what you have in there already. my problem was that I had OCZ memory which had quit making ram so I had to buy used, problem was it was high end memory, and it took a month to find a pair of sticks that matched my timing. should be cheaper than buying new or having to buy 8gig of matched. I am assuming that you have 2 sticks of 2gig now. it should be pc2 6400 though.

http://www.ebay.com/sch/Memory-RAM-/170083/i.html?_from=R40&_nkw=DDR2+Kingston+800Mhz&_dmpt=US_Memory_RAM_&Form%2520Factor=DIMM&rt=nc

or see if you can match it here with new memory http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007611%2050001183%20600006042&IsNodeId=1&name=Kingston%20Technology%20Corp.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I need help buying some RAM
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:59 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:18 pm
Posts: 69
Location: The Yay
Seems like it might be cheaper to just get this:

http://www.frys.com/product/7297993?sit ... IN_RSLT_PG


Not sure if it w
ould work with my chip set though. I went to Intel x48 specs and it seems that it would work. Any suggestions?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I need help buying some RAM
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:01 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5538
No, your motherboard only supports DDR2.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I need help buying some RAM
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 7:12 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9257
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
and most 775 boards only support 8gig max, and do not support 4gig sticks.

http://www.amazon.com/PC-Memory-Computer-Add-Ons-Computers/b/ref=amb_link_7062002_3?ie=UTF8&node=172503&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-1&pf_rd_r=14QD2KEWT11E0FJFNQ0V&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1409885162&pf_rd_i=193870011#/ref=sr_nr_p_4_1?rh=n%3A172282%2Cp_4%3AKingston&bbn=172503&ie=UTF8&qid=1354869999&rnid=15784691amazon has a bit also.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I need help buying some RAM
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 3:40 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:18 pm
Posts: 69
Location: The Yay
Thanks for the help guys. I think I am just going to take waters suggestion and get the same thing that's in there.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.