Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Dec 29, 2014 2:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 10  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:51 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 1681
I just finished my first unit and I'm using client version 6.02

Rig Specs:
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Antec Truepower Quattro 850W PSU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.21 Ghz
EVGA nforce 680i A1 motherboard
4GB (4 x 1GB) Crucial Balistik DDR2-800
EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 512 MB (G92)
Vista Ultimate SP1


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: New to F@H
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 6:05 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:14 am
Posts: 1
I've been running F@H for a while now.
Completed about 81 WU so far.
I'm using the latest GPU client (don't know what the # is).

I have lots of question so I'll give the specs. of my machine and list the
questions after.

Cooler Master case.
OCZ 850 PSU.
XFX 680i SLI motherboard (socket 775).
Intel 4400 dual core cpu.
4 gigs OCZ memory (800 MHz).
2 8800 512 GT video cards running in SLI.
22" (landscape) Samsung Syncmaster 226bw.
Klipsh 2.1 THX speakers.
APC Back- UPS Pro 1000
All protected with Zerosurge 15 amp power filters (Lots of fluctuation in power here).

Questions.

1). How do I get both my video cards to work on F@H?

2). How do I get my CPU (both cores) to work on F@H?

3). How do I enter the contests?

Sooo confused :?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to F@H
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 7:30 am 
Folding for Elena
Folding for Elena
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 17008
Location: Folding on the Best Team in the World
jfw06013 wrote:
I've been running F@H for a while now.
Completed about 81 WU so far.
I'm using the latest GPU client (don't know what the # is).

I have lots of question so I'll give the specs. of my machine and list the
questions after.

Cooler Master case.
OCZ 850 PSU.
XFX 680i SLI motherboard (socket 775).
Intel 4400 dual core cpu.
4 gigs OCZ memory (800 MHz).
2 8800 512 GT video cards running in SLI.
22" (landscape) Samsung Syncmaster 226bw.
Klipsh 2.1 THX speakers.
APC Back- UPS Pro 1000
All protected with Zerosurge 15 amp power filters (Lots of fluctuation in power here).

Questions.

1). How do I get both my video cards to work on F@H?

2). How do I get my CPU (both cores) to work on F@H?

3). How do I enter the contests?

Sooo confused :?


Repost this on the main forum please.
You will get quicker answers and a bigger audience to respond.

Drop #3, I'll answer that here.

Keep 1 & 2.
I'm bringing up a two card windows folder today and would like to read the answers myself.

Read over this thread Click Here.

In it you will find a link to a list of ppds in alphabetic order.
Find your folding name.
Whatever ppd appears add 500 to it to enter tier 1 and 250 to it to enter tier 2.
Actually at 500 over you can enter either tier.

There are other ways to enter also, give those a read.

after you pick a way to enter, just state it in the thread and smartcat will pick it up and enter you in the second post in the thread.

Depending on the way to enter that you picked and if you remain eligible, you will be in the bowl for the drawing.

Need more info?
Just ask after reading over the thread -G


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to F@H
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 12:30 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
jfw06013 wrote:
1). How do I get both my video cards to work on F@H?
2). How do I get my CPU (both cores) to work on F@H?
We all get confused. Even those that have been here for years. I think Stanford likes to keep it that way so people don't get bored. You forgot to mention your OS & you have very nice hardware :!:
Answers:
1) Disable SLI! at least while you run F@H. Use two GPU Console clients, Follow these instructions and read this thread to set affinity if needed. You should be getting 5000+ppd for each video card (10,000+ppd total.)
2) You could run the SMP client or 2 standard clients. However, I wouldn't recommend either. The SMP client wouldn't make deadlines, give you headaches and/or have a negative effect on your GPU client's PPD. 2 GPU clients will give you a semi-trouble free 10,000+ PPD.
Extra) You can use FAHMON to monitor your clients PPD. It would be good to start a new thread to introduce yourself and ask for more help if needed. Did you fold for another team before? http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/ ... =&u=384806 Welcome to team 11108!


Last edited by Gigabyte on Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:10 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:46 am
Posts: 831
Location: California
Quote:
The standard consoles clients are not worth the time, effort or energy.

Yeah, leave those to me. Someone's got to fold'em right? Who knows, there could be an answer to a disease in one of them small "worthless" units. :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:21 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 2653
Good point. I refuse to recognize or acknowledge the standard console client comment. We don't want you to hog all the glory :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 9:39 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 12:49 am
Posts: 14
Hi, I'm Tom/ thomtzvi.

Stopped folding a while ago after the client stopped downloading new work units. Thought I'd try again after seeing this.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:05 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 179
welcome Tom, pull up a chair and stay awhile.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 1:42 am 
Folding for Elena
Folding for Elena
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 17008
Location: Folding on the Best Team in the World
Thomtzvi wrote:
Hi, I'm Tom/ thomtzvi.

Stopped folding a while ago after the client stopped downloading new work units. Thought I'd try again after seeing this.

Welcome Thomtzvi

Glad you're giving it another try.

If you have any problems this time, just ask for help on the main forum.

If it goes well and you have no problems to post about, post anyway and tell us about yourself and your machine.

Read some spotlights in the thread of threads.
Enter contests and win some great prizes.
Tell a joke in the joke thread, add a quote to the quote thread.

You picked a great time to come back, we are doing fairly well and there could be lots of celebrating around here between now and the warm weather.

Thanks for folding for Stanford and MaximumPC -G


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 8:37 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:57 am
Posts: 2
Location: VA
Hey there,

I just swapped my E8500 out for a Core i7 and thought I'd take a look into using it for Folding @ home.

But after reading the original post in this thread, I'm not so sure anymore. I'm unwilling to leave my computer on 24/7, which the orignal post says is necessary because of an absurdly short 3-4 day deadline.

Don't they realize that this turns away people like me that would otherwise be happy to use it? I'd like to contribute but there's just no way I'm leaving my PC on 24/7.

Is there no compromise available?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 8:52 am 
Team Creamsicles
Team Creamsicles
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:59 pm
Posts: 792
surfacewound wrote:
Hey there,

I just swapped my E8500 out for a Core i7 and thought I'd take a look into using it for Folding @ home.

But after reading the original post in this thread, I'm not so sure anymore. I'm unwilling to leave my computer on 24/7, which the original post says is necessary because of an absurdly short 3-4 day deadline.

Don't they realize that this turns away people like me that would otherwise be happy to use it? I'd like to contribute but there's just no way I'm leaving my PC on 24/7.

Is there no compromise available?


Are you opposed to it for power bill reasons, or for a perceived degradation of your hardware? If it's the latter, they're much like light bulbs in that power cycles are more damaging than continuous operation, and it should last longer than its useful life anyway you run it.

If it's power bill reasons, I can't imagine an extra 20 bucks a month stinging your wallet much since you can afford plunking down on the latest and greatest, but either way, that beast will easily chomp through the work units before deadlines even at 8 hours a day. Only lesser dual core rigs running SMP actually need 24/7 to make it in time.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 9:27 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:57 am
Posts: 2
Location: VA
JuiceJones wrote:
Are you opposed to it for power bill reasons, or for a perceived degradation of your hardware? If it's the latter, they're much like light bulbs in that power cycles are more damaging than continuous operation, and it should last longer than its useful life anyway you run it.

If it's power bill reasons, I can't imagine an extra 20 bucks a month stinging your wallet much since you can afford plunking down on the latest and greatest, but either way, that beast will easily chomp through the work units before deadlines even at 8 hours a day. Only lesser dual core rigs running SMP actually need 24/7 to make it in time.



It's equal parts power bill and noise. The fact that I can afford an extra $20 a month is irrelevant; being able to save $240 a year by simply keeping something off when I'm not using it is a no brainer. I guess I'm just not willing to effectively spend money just for the sake of running folding @ home.

But while I do have my computer on and aren't encoding stuff, playing games, etc., I figure I may as well utilize the cores for something instead of just sitting there idle.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 9:37 am 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
Hi surfacewound,

Have you considered running 2 or 4 instances of the console client? These WU's generally have longer deadlines (think 30-40 days) and is mostly designed for a set-and-forget style.

Just download 2 or 4 (2 if you have a dual core, 4 if you have a quad core) of These and make sure you put them each in a different folder. Change the advanced options and put a different Machine ID for each process and make sure you start them all as a service.

This won't be as great as SMP, but it still helps with Folding.

Another thing you may want to look at is GPU2 folding in which you fold with your graphics card. If you have a CUDA enabled NVIDIA videocard or the equivalent ATI, you would be able to run it quite nicely. Of course, it doesn't quite get along with gaming so you would have to disable it while gaming. These WU's have short deadlines, but they process extremely fast and take about 3 hours to finish on a given graphics card.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 9:44 am 
Folding for Elena
Folding for Elena
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 17008
Location: Folding on the Best Team in the World
As hackman said, the single core clients fit your anticipated style of folding.
Less than 24/7 and you will still very easily make the deadlines.

Enjoy folding and the forum.

We get a lot of folding done and motivate lots of other teams to do more along with us.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:58 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 11:01 am
Posts: 47
Just joined the team and i'm excited about doing something that could help world. Has Stanford found any cures or any developments yet with this program? I plan to have every PC in my home (6) to run F@H.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 1:04 pm 
Monkey Fed [PC]
Monkey Fed [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:53 pm
Posts: 7076
Read Here for results and papers that they have written on their results. Just recently they found a protein that affects Alzheimer's patients, and could possibly result in a cure in a few years.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:25 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:20 am
Posts: 1
Hello, my name is Ryan but I run as Butters online. I would like to join your FaH team.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:53 am 
Folding for Elena
Folding for Elena
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 17008
Location: Folding on the Best Team in the World
egnalnayr wrote:
Hello, my name is Ryan but I run as Butters online. I would like to join your FaH team.

And we would love to have you join us egnalnayr/Ryan.

Is this you, folding since 1/1/04


EOC Stats Click Here

If it is, you don't need any help getting started.

Enjoy the forum and jump in wherever you feel comfortable.

Folding and fun are our two lines of business -G


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:57 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:46 am
Posts: 831
Location: California
Welcome to our team and our forum egnalnayr. :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 11:22 pm 
Million Club
Million Club
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:30 am
Posts: 231
How do I, if possible, do I set it up to run one instance of FAH on one PC and one other instance on the 2nd PC I'm using while setting both to give me the credit? I set the machine ID # as 1 on my first PC and as #2 on the other, but the stats file only shows me running one cpu.
I have no idea about networking and such, but I recently built a new PC and am trying to setup the old one to run FAH exclusively.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 10  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.