Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:12 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Damn this sucks...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:00 am 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5201
My folding has taken a serious hit this past week. I blame it on a few key things.

First, I started going to a Linux system. Now, I can't seem to get F@H loaded on boot. To top it off, my mother is demanding about ever 3hours that I go back into Windows to work on her project. I can't seem to be able to run Linux for more than 3 hours a time. Damn, that sucks.

Next, my dear sister decided that she would have some vouleneers for the organazition she's involved with sleep in this room. This of course means the computer has to be turned off at night. That's about 9hours a day for the past 3 days, plus today, completely wasted! Damn, this sucks!

To top it off, I loaded the file ./FAH4Cosole-Linux.exe today, and guess what? The server has gone AWOL and isn't giving me any work to do! Damnit!

Okay, that was my rant for the day,
Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Damn this sucks...
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:34 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
Belboz99 wrote:
My folding has taken a serious hit this past week. I blame it on a few key things.

First, I started going to a Linux system. Now, I can't seem to get F@H loaded on boot. To top it off, my mother is demanding about ever 3hours that I go back into Windows to work on her project. I can't seem to be able to run Linux for more than 3 hours a time. Damn, that sucks.

Start a new thread in alt.os on how to load an app on boot in linux. It is usually very easy. As for the windows problem, you could try vmware.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 4:25 pm 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5201
Thanks, I found that if I configure my rc.local file I could get it to run as a process.

That was found on this guide to F@H on Linux: http://www.vendomar.ee/~ivo/FAHLinux.txt

Basicaly, all you have to do is add these two lines to your /etc/rc.d/rc.local file:
cd /folding (or whatever you named the directory)
./FAH4Console-Linux.exe >/dev/null &


I at first forgot to add the ">/dev/null &" to the end of the line. I had F@H running, but it was the only thing that booted! I had to get out Slackware CD1 and boot from the CD to get it working again. :roll:

Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 6:55 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
Belboz99 wrote:
Thanks, I found that if I configure my rc.local file I could get it to run as a process.

Glad to see that you got it straightened out. Just a quick point of clairification - a process is any program that is currently executing (ie. it has a process id number and will receive some cpu time as the scheduler sees fit). A program doesn't have to be in the rc.local file to run as a process. Not sure if you knew that... just making sure.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 7:56 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 325
Location: Nowhere, USA
I just found out that my sister and brother-in-law need to borrow a notebook from me for a few weeks. The one they had developed a LCD problem (like it wasn't working anymore) so Circuit City is refunding their money because they have worked and replaced this notebook out several times already.

So now I'm down to two rigs with three clients.....Come and get me. **looks back at Gadget..**

Oh, and they had a Toshiba notebook if anyone was wondering.....


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 6:31 am 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5201
Man, I've already lost another night to bad luck.

My Northbridge fan died on me the other night, so I shut it down and unplugged all the plugs so I could use my father's machine. My father of course would never let me fold on his laptop, so I spent the time looking for a solution to my problem.

What I found, at about 1:30 AM, was that I didn't need the fan at all if I had good airflow and hadn't increased the voltage much. I now have great airflow with my new case, and I have never increased the voltage., so I'm set.

Unfortunatley, by the time I found that out it was too late to put the thing back together, and I let the night go. :cry:

The next day I got my case in the mail and lost another 2-2 1/2 hours of folding trying to dissasemble and reassemble the whole thing.

I got no points yesterday because of all that. :(

Today, however, has been much better. I let the thing run all night. About 3 or 4 hours ago it started on the P736, a 1,000,000 step job. Hopefully, it will only take half as long as a 400 frame tinker, because it's only worth about half the points.

Dan O.

And oh yeah, I did just break a 100pt per day average! :D


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.