Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:47 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 10:39 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:22 am
Posts: 626
Is there an option to put the PC to sleep after active WUs finish?

As I've said, I will be cutting back to almost nothing soon, but I will put up a WU here and there. Thanks to crwlngkngsnk I know about the "finish" option that will not DL another WU after finishing, thus keeping my bonus as high as possible, and never failing to return a WU. I was still wondering if you could set it to shut down as soon as folding stops.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 5:51 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 568
I would have liked that option in the client itself but never found it. On linux, I just estimate the time left and set the shutdown timer. Maybe there is a similar MSDOS option or a program for that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 7:02 am 
Team Member Top 1000
Team Member Top 1000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:39 pm
Posts: 775
Location: If you don't know...how should I
In the older versions, you go into a DOS prompt and configure the client with a flag for -onewu (or something like that).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 5:01 pm 
Team Member Top 1000
Team Member Top 1000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:39 pm
Posts: 775
Location: If you don't know...how should I
I did a little research for your answer....and it's really simple.

Open FAHControl, click on the "Finish" button and viola....done and done.

It will continue the current WU, send the results and terminate.

Sometimes the simpliest things are the toughest to figure out :mrgreen:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 8:37 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:22 am
Posts: 626
This causes the folding to stop, but it doesn't make the PC shut down. I want my PC off when its done so I'm not using all that power at idle.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 8:38 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:22 am
Posts: 626
That was my 1st post with the 250 badge! I think I'm way too exited about that...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 5:16 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 568
Like I said, for Windows, your best bet would be to find a program that can be used to set a timer for sleep or shutdown. F@H doesn't have this option. Make sure you also take into account upload times after WU completion when you manually set up a timer.

It's a shame that this option isn't found in many other programs either. I think the last time I saw this ability was either in a disk defragmenter or in a BT-client many years ago.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 10:56 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:22 am
Posts: 626
Yea, I could time it out, I but you gotta have extra on there in case it slows any. I just was wondering if there was an auto function.

I wonder though if anyone makes software that can detect CPU usage an shutdown/sleep after X mins of inactivity.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 2:22 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 540
Location: Sittin' downtown at the railway station, one toke over the line.
See if this does it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 5:13 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 568
That looks like a promising program. Lots of other nifty-looking programs on their site also.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 5:06 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 540
Location: Sittin' downtown at the railway station, one toke over the line.
I haven't personally used any of them, but it looked like a decent find.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 6:36 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 8:06 am
Posts: 2057
Location: Indiana
Use the Windows Task Scheduler. It will be easier for me to just link you to a guide.
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/95 ... -task.html


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 8:36 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 540
Location: Sittin' downtown at the railway station, one toke over the line.
Task Scheduler was my first thought, but I couldn't figure out how to trigger a task based on processor use. I'm pretty sure the definition of "idle" is no user input. You could do it by time, but then you have to re-create the task every time. Maybe R3D could let us know what he has tried, if anything, and what kind of results he got. *ahem*


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 7:07 am 
Team Member Top 1000
Team Member Top 1000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:39 pm
Posts: 775
Location: If you don't know...how should I
crwlngkngsnk wrote:
Task Scheduler was my first thought, but I couldn't figure out how to trigger a task based on processor use. I'm pretty sure the definition of "idle" is no user input. You could do it by time, but then you have to re-create the task every time. Maybe R3D could let us know what he has tried, if anything, and what kind of results he got. *ahem*


R3D can't answer right now because he successfully shut down the pc after his current WU and now has no connection MaxPC Forums 8)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 7:56 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:22 am
Posts: 626
TobyKY76 wrote:
R3D can't answer right now because he successfully shut down the pc after his current WU and now has no connection MaxPC Forums 8)


haha, i've always got a connection, ill usually see things on my cell, and reply later at my pc.

Its not that big of a deal, I know there are ways somehow to get it done, but I was curious if it was in the client. I have no real interest in other apps for now, trying to keep the PC clean of extra/rarely used things.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finish WU then shutdown?
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 8:42 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 540
Location: Sittin' downtown at the railway station, one toke over the line.
R3D88 wrote:
I have no real interest in other apps for now, trying to keep the PC clean of extra/rarely used things.
That's crazy talk.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group