Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 4:22 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Are you using an AMD GPU?
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2014 8:55 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 540
Location: Sittin' downtown at the railway station, one toke over the line.
So, I was snooping over at bit-tech. They've got a guy with like 6M+ 24 hour average. :shock:
Anyways, I read a post from a guy over there, he says he uses the -beta flag with his AMD card because that way he only gets Core_17 WUs. Apparently the 15s don't Fold as well (aside from being worth fewer points generally) and consequently there is a serious points drop.
I'm not advocating that anyone here stoop to such measures. :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Are you using an AMD GPU?
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2014 10:08 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:22 am
Posts: 626
I've gotten core 17 only since I restarted a few months ago, no flags.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Are you using an AMD GPU?
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2014 10:44 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 540
Location: Sittin' downtown at the railway station, one toke over the line.
Hey, I use crappy old NVIDIA cards, what do I know?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Are you using an AMD GPU?
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2014 11:22 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 10:25 pm
Posts: 676
Location: Columbus, OH
Are you using the latest folding client? If not you might want to update you client, see if you get better WU's.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Are you using an AMD GPU?
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2014 11:44 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 540
Location: Sittin' downtown at the railway station, one toke over the line.
Who, me? One of my machines is running the latest client, the other is using the older iteration of the new client, so fairly up-to-date, besides, it only SMP Folds. I wonder if anybody has seen any PPD differences between the two.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Are you using an AMD GPU?
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2014 11:48 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 10:25 pm
Posts: 676
Location: Columbus, OH
crwlngkngsnk wrote:
I wonder if anybody has seen any PPD differences between the two.


I dont know on that one. I have been away from folding for a while, so I am still getting use to using version 7 and not using version 6.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Are you using an AMD GPU?
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2014 1:54 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 540
Location: Sittin' downtown at the railway station, one toke over the line.
I tried installing V6 when I was having some problems (I wanted to eliminate Core_17 WUs), it wouldn't install for some reason and I didn't really pursue it.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group