Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 9:24 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New client is not so great
PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 5:26 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 594
I haven't folded in months on my Linux machine so when I ran it today, I decided to update to the v7.3 from the earlier v7.x version.

Well, took me many install/uninstall figure out that FahControl doesn't turn on the FahClient anymore. You need to run a start/stop command in the terminal (I think it was /etc/init.d/fahclient start).

So after that, I load up the Fahcontrol and I see it got a protein but I can't tell if it's folding or not. It just seems to stay on 0 steps. Is there a way to check if I'm folding? Or maybe they gave me a big WU that my hexacore is slowly crunching thru it? I would have thought it could have done at least 1 step in a half hour.


Thoughts?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New client is not so great
PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:25 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:37 am
Posts: 726
Location: Rest in Peace... Stratplan & Whitecree & Thomasvjones
I have not done any Folding on a Linux system in a while, but I'll comment on the Windows client.

I don't like what Stanford did with the 7.3.6 client. The new 'Web Control' is an annoying mess.

I reverted several systems back to the 7.2.9 client - I feel it gives me more control over my clients and cores.

There was a forum post somewhere with a link to some of the older clients... but I cannot seem to find it now. :oops:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New client is not so great
PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 1:28 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 594
Ok, I also saw that web client thing but didn't really understand what it was all about.

I'll work on it when I get free time. Solving the initial linux problems are a pain though.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New client is not so great
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:03 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 594
Alright, so it seems that the client was crunching but it just didn't show up in the Control at first.

I also got the GPU to work natively in linux using the 7.3.6 client. You need to give the GPU the slot option of "client-type" with the value of "beta"

More here:
http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php? ... etup-Guide

So now I got the AMD Phenom II 1045T and an Nvidia GTX 550 ti going. It's probably best to stick to nvidia cards because the AMDs might be troublesome.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New client is not so great
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:37 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:04 am
Posts: 228
Location: AZ, USA
New client is designed for plug and play, and for newbies, hence the web control.

If you don't like the web control starting every time, edit the startup link to remove the --web gui switch. Then use the tray icon like usual.


As for the linux install, it installs the fahclient as service by default. No need to start a service manually. It starts automatically. No need for fahcontrol to start or start the service, only pause/unpause and quit.

Open fahcontrol and look at the Log tab. It will show you the progress line by line. If you're having trouble, you may need to post a copy of that log anyway to help diagnose the problem.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.