Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 9:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: New to Folding
PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:15 pm 

Hey there. I just heard about this folding thing and thought it sounded like an EXCELLENT cause to work on. I have a computer about 18 months old that I built myself, and I was hoping some people could tell me what the best use of my resources would be as far as which client I should use and whatnot. I'm also a gamer and want to find out if there is a way to keep the folding from interfering with my games by just running in the background using minimal resources, or possibly pausing the folding during gaming sessions? Not sure if that's even possible as I'm still learning about folding in general.

Here are the important components to my system. (From memory, not at home right now)

750W Power Supply
AMD Phenom II x6 1090T Black Edition @ 3.2 Ghz
Gforce GTX 470 1.25 Ghz GPU (Gets hot. Like 85-90c hot sometimes. Not sure how demanding the GPU client is)
8 gig 1333 ripjaw ram (Thinking about upgrading to 16 if folding can use it.)
Windows 7 Professional
Running on WiFi with DSL connection.

Everything else is pretty standard on my machine. Thoughts about how best to use my computer to help? Oh yeah, I will be joining team MaximumPC when I get home. :)

Regards,

Bookworm

Post subject: Re: New to Folding
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:52 am 
Folding for Elena
Folding for Elena

Welcome, bookworm. We are glad to have you and folding is indeed, a very good thing to be doing. Both your main CPU and your GPU can be used in folding and the new integrated version 7 (or v7) client is the one to use, which is now in a VERY stable beta. Go to folding.stanford.edu to download it and the rather simple directions and we'd also be available to answer any questions.