Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Dec 27, 2014 2:10 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 8:22 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 8:06 am
Posts: 2058
Location: Indiana
Anyone want free cloud access to use for folding?

Details are here:
http://distributedcomputing.cloudapp.net/

Free 90-day trial of Windows Azure to use with Stanford's F@H project.

Enjoy!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:13 pm 
Million Club - 10 Plus
Million Club - 10 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 86
Thanks, I got one set up.

BUT, now do I get it to SMP on the 8 cores? The instructions are vague there...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:51 pm 
Million Club - 10 Plus
Million Club - 10 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 86
And how do I get 11108 in as team...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:44 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 8:06 am
Posts: 2058
Location: Indiana
I saw this too late to set it up last night, but wanted to make others aware of it. If you don't get answers before this evening, I'll see what I find out.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:22 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:08 pm
Posts: 1514
Location: Alberta, Canada
I'll give this a try when I get home tonight.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:40 pm 
Million Club - 10 Plus
Million Club - 10 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 86
Full_Taoer wrote:
I saw this too late to set it up last night, but wanted to make others aware of it. If you don't get answers before this evening, I'll see what I find out.



I have two instances of a single core running right now. I played with flags, no change. I am not a programmer, so "slight tweaks to the code" does not help. But I got it going so I should be close.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:41 pm 
Million Club - 10 Plus
Million Club - 10 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 86
OK so far it has garnered 107 points for FAH. Unless it can go SMP then it is not worth the 2 hours to set up.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:47 pm 
Million Club - 10 Plus
Million Club - 10 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:10 pm
Posts: 80
Hi All,

I would be interested in this if it yields some decent WU's and points, keep us updated. Cheers,

Danners


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:21 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 12:50 pm
Posts: 920
Location: WI, USA
I'm waiting for the crap to install right now. it's frustratingly long...
I'll see what I can setup when I have time later unless it finishes really soon.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:44 pm 
Million Club - 10 Plus
Million Club - 10 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 86
When up, go into configure, that is where I changed the instances from 1 to 2, that doubled the cores to 16, but obviously is still 2004 old school single core taking 14 hours for a single 107 pt WU.

I tried adding smp flags, bigadv flag, #cores flag and that has no effect.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:05 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 8:06 am
Posts: 2058
Location: Indiana
Bummer. I finally got to read the FAQ.

Quote:
Q. Am I limited to using a small VM role size? What about medium, large, and extra-large?

A. The Folding@home client application we distribute only makes use of one core, so there is no benefit in scaling the CPU size upwards. You can increase the number of instances associated with the application; however, that will result in a quicker depletion of complimentary services (for trial and MSDN accounts) and additional charges to pay-as-you-go accounts.


Doesn't look like this will provide significant points per individual. Given the set-up time required, many of you will not want to take part in this. For those that do, here might be your greatest contribution:
Quote:
In addition to contributing directly to this project, Microsoft is donating $10 per participant to Stanford University to help the cause (up to $5,000 maximum).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 5:42 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 12:50 pm
Posts: 920
Location: WI, USA
more MS fail :lol:

I may finish setting up an account, but I'd just rather do something else, make some buxx, and donate $10 to Stanford myself. Taking up a few hours of my time for MS to donate a measly $10 to stanford is really not worth my time, for the most part.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:49 am 
Million Club - 10 Plus
Million Club - 10 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 86
Dont bother, waste of time.

No benefit to MPC, little benefit to Folding.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:52 am 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 11:07 pm
Posts: 2622
Location: NC
Geez... I think my P4 would pull better PPD then this... lol I'd rather spend the time to go downstairs to the kitchen PC and install F@H and go back up stairs after 10 mins...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:35 pm 
Million Club - 10 Plus
Million Club - 10 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:10 pm
Posts: 80
Quote:
Geez... I think my P4 would pull better PPD then this... lol I'd rather spend the time to go downstairs to the kitchen PC and install F@H and go back up stairs after 10 mins...


I have an old Athlon 64 x2 4800+ that I know does better than what MS is offering, think I will give this one a pass. Always hopeful though, you never know.

Danners


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 7:04 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 11:07 pm
Posts: 2622
Location: NC
Oh the good ole times back in those days... although I was donating the spare cpu cycles for SETI.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 8:13 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:45 pm
Posts: 3037
Location: Central Florida
Icebergs wrote:
Dont bother, waste of time.

No benefit to MPC, little benefit to Folding.

True, there is no benefit to the MPC team score (as is...), but it is extremely beneficial to Folding @ Home. Just because everyone focuses on the high scoring SMP & GPU work units these days, it doesn't mean that the old single core work units can just be discarded. Each Work Unit, be it a GPU, SMP, or single core Work Unit, is part of a larger simulation, & incomplete simulations don't give good answers.

Do you fold for points, or do you fold so that one day families like the Smitheman's don't have to loose loved ones to cancer anymore, or Huntington's Disease, or ALS, et.al.

If it's for the later, than these WU's and this work very much matters...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:58 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:45 pm
Posts: 3037
Location: Central Florida
BTW... the client for this IS configurable including changing team name, changing client used (SMP), and entering your passkey... But beware, you are limited to a certain number of hours per month, using SMP will chew through them a lot faster.

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 10:56 pm 
Million Club - 10 Plus
Million Club - 10 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 86
I already chewed through the hours. Not sure what it produced as it was mixed in, but how did you get it to go SMP? I used the smp client instead of theirs, I added the flags and numbers, but could not get it to SMP, only single core. And even the single cores chewed through the free hours.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First HPCS, Now MS Windows Azure
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 7:35 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:45 pm
Posts: 3037
Location: Central Florida
Icebergs wrote:
I already chewed through the hours. Not sure what it produced as it was mixed in, but how did you get it to go SMP? I used the smp client instead of theirs, I added the flags and numbers, but could not get it to SMP, only single core. And even the single cores chewed through the free hours.


So far I can't get the darned thing to run, I'm attempting again this morning. However, I'm using Windows 8 and there are extra steps you have to do to get everything installed correctly, & I seem to have missed something previously... So today, I'm going through very slowly, & double checking everything, and hopefully by this afternoon... [crosses fingers]

The SMP client came with the @home with Azure package, and was already selected in the .cloud configuration file when I opened it up, so maybe it was an update to the program since the OP. However, since the program defaults to one CPU, I think that you may need to add the -smp flag as well as the flag for the number of cores you want to use. i.e. -smp -8 which would burn through the available hours in 3 days...

Also, "<Instances count="1">", I think that tells the program how many CPU cores to use. In the case of the single core client, setting it to 8 would enable 8 single core programs to run, but for SMP, it should replace the -8 flag. Or at least that's what I'm thinking anyway.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.