Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:04 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: FAH GPU Tracker V2
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 5:50 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:43 pm
Posts: 34
FAH GPU Tracker V2 is a Folding@Home Client tracking and control program that I created to make folding easier.

Features:
- Controls up to 9 clients (CPU or SMP, up to 8 GPUs)
- Tracks detailed stats for every client and every name/team combo
- Tracks WU failures by project number for each client
- Saves the logs of failed WUs
- Can automatically reconfigure user information from an XML file
- Gaming Pause feature to pause clients while gaming
- Automatically updating projects list (pulled from psummary)
- Hides all client windows to prevent taskbar clutter
- Can be minimized to system tray
- Automatic update support
- Heat Control setting to throttle GPUs based on the current WU
- Allows switching between the GPU2 and GPU3 clients (per-GPU)
- Can export an XML file with the current status of the Tracker
- Can upload the XML status file to an FTP server
- Downloads the FAH clients from Stanford on first run
- PPD monitoring of all clients including bonus points for SMP A3

Download v3.54 - Final:
FAH GPU Tracker V2

FAH GPU Tracker V2 website:
Tracker Website

FAH GPU Tracker V2 support forum:
Support Forum

Installation:
1. Extract FAH GPU Tracker V2.zip
2. Run FAH GPU Tracker V2.exe (If you have UAC enabled run it as administrator)
3. Go to Setup -> Configure
4. Change the options as you see fit
5. Hit apply and close the config page
6. You are ready to start folding!
7. Hit the start button(s) on the desired client(s) to begin folding

Image

I am open to suggestions on how to improve the Tracker, and would be happy to add anything that seems useful.


Last edited by jedi95 on Thu Apr 12, 2012 2:37 am, edited 44 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 6:01 pm 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
Can you add a Heat Control setting for SMP WU's as well? I looked to see if there was one, but didn't find it.

I'm also not entirely certain how to operate this program. I configured it and from the looks of it, it tried to start another SMP WU?

The gaming pause feature looks awesome.

Here is the logfile:
Code:
[20:54:01] --------------------------------------------------
[20:54:02] FAH GPU Tracker v2.77 Startup
[20:54:02] --------------------------------------------------
[20:54:21] Error checking latest version
[20:55:37] Applied new config settings
[20:55:52] Starting SMP
[20:55:52] Started new WU on SMP
[20:56:09] Stopped SMP
[20:56:38] Starting SMP
[20:56:38] Resumed existing WU on SMP
[20:56:47] Stopped SMP


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:43 pm
Posts: 34
hackman2007 wrote:
Can you add a Heat Control setting for SMP WU's as well? I looked to see if there was one, but didn't find it.

I'm also not entirely certain how to operate this program. I configured it and from the looks of it, it tried to start another SMP WU?

The gaming pause feature looks awesome.



I can't add a Heat Control feature for SMP because the client and core don't support it. The Tracker sets the environment variable FAH_GPU_IDLE in order to reduce GPU usage, but no equivalent environment variable exists for the SMP client. If you want to reduce the heat from the SMP client the best way is to limit the number of cores it is running on. For example, on an i7 system with HT enabled (8 threads), I could set the SMP client to use 6 cores in the config. This would reduce the overall CPU load, and thus the heat produced.

Did you run install.bat? That is one of the most likely reasons for the SMP client having trouble starting. The odd part is that according to that logfile you are manually stopping the SMP client. Do you see your CPU being loaded when the client is supposedly running? If so then the client is running correctly.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 6:39 pm 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
I didn't really want it to start another WU.

Was just checking out what that feature was.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 7:02 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
Looks nice.

Any idea on linux support, since all of my folders are currently linux?





Ted


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 7:46 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:43 pm
Posts: 34
Tedster wrote:
Looks nice.

Any idea on linux support, since all of my folders are currently linux?


Ted


I used VB.NET to code the Tracker, so native Linux support is not currently planned.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 8:05 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
Ok.





Ted


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 8:28 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:17 pm
Posts: 260
Location: Folding as Fizyx
Looks excellent, especially the games pause feature. Can't install it now, but next weekend I'll certainly give it a try. My biggest problem is always remembering to restart my clients, so if this works I'll love you forever :P


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 8:52 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 7:19 pm
Posts: 210
Location: Russia
Great prog!!!
I tried to make a program with scheduling and game pausing features, but I'm lazy :) Thank You so much for this work!!!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 4:02 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:43 pm
Posts: 34
Version 2.79 is out which includes the GPU3 client. The new GPU3 config page allows you to pick which GPUs will use the new client (all others use the GPU2 client). Note that due to the size of this update it may take several minutes, during which the Tracker will be unresponsive.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 12:04 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:43 pm
Posts: 34
Version 2.8 BETA is out. This version will be the last beta version available for public download. Starting with this version only stable versions will be released publicly. This is to prevent a situation similar to the early 2.7x releases that had tons of bugs due to new features.

If you want to join the beta team to help with development and get access to beta versions you can apply on the FAH GPU Tracker V2 forums here:
Tracker Forums


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 1:11 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
Applied





Ted


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 2:11 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
It seems that the beta did not start my clients when I clicked the "start all" button.

Test System:
Windows xp media Center edition 2004
phenom 9950
1 gb ram (carried over)
8800 GT
k9a2 platinum
bfg 1200w psu (for when my 280's come back)
antec 900 w/ all fan slots filled
197.45 drivers
folder: C:\fah\[gpu tracker folder]





Ted

EDIT: The tracking part is working, but the start/stop client part is not on this computer


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 2:26 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:43 pm
Posts: 34
Tedster wrote:
It seems that the beta did not start my clients when I clicked the "start all" button.

Test System:
Windows xp media Center edition 2004
phenom 9950
1 gb ram (carried over)
8800 GT
k9a2 platinum
bfg 1200w psu (for when my 280's come back)
antec 900 w/ all fan slots filled
197.45 drivers
folder: C:\fah\[gpu tracker folder]





Ted

EDIT: The tracking part is working, but the start/stop client part is not on this computer


Please post the contents of LOG.txt located in the Tracker's main folder. I need to see what the Tracker is doing to determine the problem.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 2:31 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
I added comments on what I did in {}

Code:
[17:52:16] --------------------------------------------------
[17:52:16] FAH GPU Tracker v2.8 Startup
[17:52:16] --------------------------------------------------
[17:54:37] Applied new config settings
[17:54:49] Starting SMP
[17:54:49] Started new WU on SMP
[17:54:49] Starting GPU 0
[17:54:49] Started new WU on GPU0
[17:58:50] Stopped SMP
[17:58:51] Stopped GPU 0
[17:59:31] Applied new config settings
[17:59:55] Starting SMP
{manually copied gpu2 executable to GPU0 folder, started, let it download a WU, and stopped it; did same with SMP client}
{clicked "start all"}
[17:59:55] Resumed existing WU on SMP
[18:00:25] Starting GPU 0
[18:00:25] Started new WU on GPU0
[18:00:39] Stopped GPU 0
[18:00:57] Starting GPU 0
[18:00:57] Resumed existing WU on GPU0
[18:01:03] Stopped GPU 0
[18:01:16] Starting GPU 0
[18:01:16] Resumed existing WU on GPU0
[18:08:40] Refreshed client status






Ted

EDIT: Also, the tracking part of it is updating still


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 2:35 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
screenshot:

Image





Ted


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 2:54 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:43 pm
Posts: 34
Tedster wrote:
screenshot:

Image

Ted


So if I understand this correctly the clients will run if you manually start them from the folders but not if you run them through the Tracker?

If so then this is probably the same problem another user was having with Windows Home Server. The issue in this case is the way the Tracker runs the clients hidden. It doesn't appear to affect any versions of Vista or Windows 7 but I thought it was specific to Windows Home Server.

I have a better way of running the clients hidden planned, but I have no idea when that will be done. In the mean time I will be adding a "compatibility mode" option that may resolve this issue.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 2:59 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
That is correct. also, hitting the start and stop buttons has no impact on the progress. If by "hidden", you mean that it does not create the queue, work folder, and logfile, then it might have been working, but the WU did not progress without the clients manually started.





Ted


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 4:35 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
2.81 beta is working.

Also, I had to manually kill the GPU tracker process in task manager when I updated it.





Ted


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 4:51 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:43 pm
Posts: 34
Tedster wrote:
That is correct. also, hitting the start and stop buttons has no impact on the progress. If by "hidden", you mean that it does not create the queue, work folder, and logfile, then it might have been working, but the WU did not progress without the clients manually started.
Ted


By hidden I mean that the clients will run normally, but the console windows will not be visible. The problem with this method is that closing hidden windows safely (won't disrupt WU progress) is hard.

The method I am currently using is running the clients inside a container program. This container program waits for a close command from the Tracker then does crtl+c on itself. This closes the client safely. The problem with Windows XP is that for some unknown reason the client does not start correctly within the container.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group