Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: p3 800 system value?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:38 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:09 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Flower Mound tx
looking to sell the following system and was wondering what i should sell it for its a prior dell system that i had gutted and replaced parts but here is what it has:

•Pentium 3 800 MHZ @133mhz bus speed
•512 MB RDRAM memory @133mhz bus speed
•60 GB Maxtor hard drive (new)
•Sony 8x4x32 CDRW drive
•16x DVD ROM drive
•NVIDIA GeForce2 GTS 64MB
•Philips sonic edge 5.1 sound card
•Built in 3Com Etherlink XL 10/100 network card
•2 USB ports
•Microsoft office keyboard
•Logitech optical wheel mouse
•2.1 speakers (optional)

Software preloaded includes:
•Microsoft windows XP home with SP2 and all current updates
•Norton system works 2003
•Microsoft works suite 2002 (MS word and MS works)
•Power DVD xp 4.0 software DVD player
•Musicmatch jukebox basic (included with sound card)
•Acid Xpress 3.0 (included with sound card)
•Audio pix (included with sound card)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:42 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 4956
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
100-200


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:24 am 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
Yeah, just about $200 for that system.

RDRAM in a P3 system?

Anyone care to school me about that?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:55 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 2496
Location: Wizzing into the abyss
OCNoob wrote:
Yeah, just about $200 for that system.

RDRAM in a P3 system?

Anyone care to school me about that?


i820 chipset...it was short lived because the PIII's couldn't take advantage of the bandwidth rdram offered, Intel also offered a memory adapter with it for putting in sdram but it didn't work well so Intel had to give out rdram modules


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:29 am 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
JAFAH5150 wrote:
i820 chipset...it was short lived because the PIII's couldn't take advantage of the bandwidth rdram offered, Intel also offered a memory adapter with it for putting in sdram but it didn't work well so Intel had to give out rdram modules


Thx for the info!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:41 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 2496
Location: Wizzing into the abyss
np :)


if I had some bux right now I would buy it to see how well it does with a tualatin in it


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 3:11 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 4956
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Probably run pretty nice with that RAM.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 7:15 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:09 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Flower Mound tx
sorry fellas i made a mistake the ram is not rdram but sdram after seeing some of the posts i went an made sure by running sandra and it is the sdram chipset is the 815 i was mistaking it for the other system i had built for my dad a while back that does have the rdram but is pentium 4
thanks for bringing up that info
i do remember too that when my dad first bought this system that was an option for the rdram or the 820 chipset but whats kind of funny is that when he bought this system new he had paid around $2000 for it just dont remember what year he bought it.
sorry about the mis info :cry:
mike


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 1:45 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
cncmonke wrote:
sorry about the mis info :cry:
mike


No biggie do0d!

Hey, on the bright side, at least someone learned something out of this. :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:09 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 177
Location: 127.0.0.1
JAFAH5150 wrote:
OCNoob wrote:
Yeah, just about $200 for that system.

RDRAM in a P3 system?

Anyone care to school me about that?


i820 chipset...it was short lived because the PIII's couldn't take advantage of the bandwidth rdram offered, Intel also offered a memory adapter with it for putting in sdram but it didn't work well so Intel had to give out rdram modules


Yea..I think I remember that....wasn't that adapter causing all kinds of problems such as random reboots and lockups....


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:29 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 2496
Location: Wizzing into the abyss
Iceman wrote:
Yea..I think I remember that....wasn't that adapter causing all kinds of problems such as random reboots and lockups....



It was nasty :shock:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 12:03 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 4:46 pm
Posts: 858
RDRAM was ahead and behind its time but it still kicked ass, i still want that dream machine MPC did in 2000 (i think) dual 1 ghz p3s 1 gig rdram, 3 plexor burners holy crap!


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.