Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:15 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ad's
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:54 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:07 pm
Posts: 123
Location: Virginia
I thought I read somewhere that you would only see so many ad's a day when logged in. Now I get an ad almost every time I visit any page on the site. I bet 70% of the pages I look at, including opening the home page or clicking a newspost, I have to skip an ad page. Most of the time there isn't even an ad displayed, just a black white space with the skip ad bar at the top. It is really getting frustrating and has caused me to scale back the number of times a day I check the site.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:02 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24218
Location: Granite Heaven
Ad's what? What do the ads possess, exactly?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:04 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:07 pm
Posts: 123
Location: Virginia
Nothing, I just get the page that the advertisements are supposed to show up on but there is never an ad displayed, just a blank space where the ad should be and the thing at the top that says skip this ad


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:16 am 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 27346
Location: In a cage, dumbass.
b_boy_69_00 wrote:
Nothing, I just get the page that the advertisements are supposed to show up on but there is never an ad displayed, just a blank space where the ad should be and the thing at the top that says skip this ad


Jo0r computer needs a Java update me thinks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:18 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24218
Location: Granite Heaven
He also needs a grammar checker but my ubersubtle comments whizzed over his head like Yao Ming pissing over a midget.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:20 am 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 11:16 pm
Posts: 2057
Yes indeedy do. Update Java, then you'll get the ads instead of blank squares.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:38 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 11:15 am
Posts: 1431
TheSimulatorGuy wrote:
Yes indeedy do. Update Java, then you'll get the ads instead of blank squares.


or you could just install adblock plus and not see any ads at all.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:48 am 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 27346
Location: In a cage, dumbass.
bathtbgin wrote:
TheSimulatorGuy wrote:
Yes indeedy do. Update Java, then you'll get the ads instead of blank squares.


or you could just install adblock plus and not see any ads at all.


He'd still end up at the ad page. That won't resolve anything.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:54 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 11:15 am
Posts: 1431
Spider Monkey wrote:
bathtbgin wrote:
TheSimulatorGuy wrote:
Yes indeedy do. Update Java, then you'll get the ads instead of blank squares.


or you could just install adblock plus and not see any ads at all.


He'd still end up at the ad page. That won't resolve anything.


I've never seen the ad page. adblock plus with filterset.G updater.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:55 am 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 27346
Location: In a cage, dumbass.
bathtbgin wrote:
Spider Monkey wrote:
bathtbgin wrote:
TheSimulatorGuy wrote:
Yes indeedy do. Update Java, then you'll get the ads instead of blank squares.


or you could just install adblock plus and not see any ads at all.


He'd still end up at the ad page. That won't resolve anything.


I've never seen the ad page. adblock plus with filterset.G updater.


Then you don't log in from the website home page.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:39 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 11:15 am
Posts: 1431
Spider Monkey wrote:
bathtbgin wrote:
Spider Monkey wrote:
bathtbgin wrote:
TheSimulatorGuy wrote:
Yes indeedy do. Update Java, then you'll get the ads instead of blank squares.


or you could just install adblock plus and not see any ads at all.


He'd still end up at the ad page. That won't resolve anything.


I've never seen the ad page. adblock plus with filterset.G updater.


Then you don't log in from the website home page.


Viewed the site using IE7, saw the ad page, I then tried FF 3.0 with ABP turned off and saw the ad page. Quit FF, cleared the cache with CCleaner, restarted FF with ABP on did not see the ad page. I even logged in through the main page like you suggested and still didnt see the ad page.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:22 pm 
Million Club - 5 Plus
Million Club - 5 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 6:35 am
Posts: 1998
?

Ive logged in through the main site and never seen this add page either.

FF 3.03 and ABP 0.7.5.5.. Ive got the EasyList(USA) filter set.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 5:08 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24218
Location: Granite Heaven
Can we get back to important things, like mocking the OP's grammatical error in the title? :P


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 8:11 am 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 27346
Location: In a cage, dumbass.
bathtbgin wrote:
Spider Monkey wrote:
bathtbgin wrote:
Spider Monkey wrote:
bathtbgin wrote:
TheSimulatorGuy wrote:
Yes indeedy do. Update Java, then you'll get the ads instead of blank squares.


or you could just install adblock plus and not see any ads at all.


He'd still end up at the ad page. That won't resolve anything.


I've never seen the ad page. adblock plus with filterset.G updater.


Then you don't log in from the website home page.


Viewed the site using IE7, saw the ad page, I then tried FF 3.0 with ABP turned off and saw the ad page. Quit FF, cleared the cache with CCleaner, restarted FF with ABP on did not see the ad page. I even logged in through the main page like you suggested and still didnt see the ad page.


Cool. One problem though. FF sucks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:05 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
IE7 here... I never get ads.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 1:04 am 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 11:16 pm
Posts: 2057
Spider Monkey wrote:
bathtbgin wrote:
Spider Monkey wrote:
bathtbgin wrote:
Spider Monkey wrote:
bathtbgin wrote:
TheSimulatorGuy wrote:
Yes indeedy do. Update Java, then you'll get the ads instead of blank squares.


or you could just install adblock plus and not see any ads at all.


He'd still end up at the ad page. That won't resolve anything.


I've never seen the ad page. adblock plus with filterset.G updater.


Then you don't log in from the website home page.


Viewed the site using IE7, saw the ad page, I then tried FF 3.0 with ABP turned off and saw the ad page. Quit FF, cleared the cache with CCleaner, restarted FF with ABP on did not see the ad page. I even logged in through the main page like you suggested and still didnt see the ad page.


Cool. One problem though. FF sucks.


Does not!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:29 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
TheSimulatorGuy wrote:

Does not!
Does.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:52 am 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 11:16 pm
Posts: 2057
drainbread wrote:
TheSimulatorGuy wrote:

Does not!
Does.


May the fleas of a thousand camels fornicate on your manhood for such blasphemy.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group