Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 11:09 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ads by google side bar?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:18 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 7:32 pm
Posts: 1828
Location: Honolulu
Whats with that side bar on the homepage?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:30 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
Dont know but with the brilliant customize google plugin for firefox you can get rid of google ads as well as Gmail ones.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ads by google side bar?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:31 pm 
Celeron
Celeron
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:13 pm
Posts: 7362
Location: New York City
RickRock wrote:
Whats with that side bar on the homepage?


People need money to run things. Having space available on a website for advertising is one way to get this money.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ads by google side bar?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:24 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 7:32 pm
Posts: 1828
Location: Honolulu
OCNoob wrote:
RickRock wrote:
Whats with that side bar on the homepage?


People need money to run things. Having space available on a website for advertising is one way to get this money.


I wonder why they dont just host it themselves, on Future servers :?:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ads by google side bar?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 8:18 am 
iron colbinator
iron colbinator
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 2:25 pm
Posts: 2761
Location: Washington, the state
RickRock wrote:
I wonder why they dont just host it themselves, on Future servers :?:


Bandwidth, and redundant no less? 24/7 onsite staff? Backup redundant generators? I'm sure the cost of hosting at Rackspace is WAY cheaper than having the same facilities one-off in Future's basement.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:01 am 
Maximum PC Editor
Maximum PC Editor
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 1:13 pm
Posts: 2308
I've hosted my personal website at home for the last 5 years. It's really not worth the hassle. The only reason I haven't changed is that it would be more of a hassle to move the site and all the affiliated domain info than it does to keep it hosted on my home file server.

Plus, I get a little more flexibility than I'd get on a $10 a month hosting plan.

///Will


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 8:37 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 7:32 pm
Posts: 1828
Location: Honolulu
WillSmith wrote:
I've hosted my personal website at home for the last 5 years. It's really not worth the hassle. The only reason I haven't changed is that it would be more of a hassle to move the site and all the affiliated domain info than it does to keep it hosted on my home file server.

Plus, I get a little more flexibility than I'd get on a $10 a month hosting plan.

///Will


What OS are you suing to host your pages? Windows 2003, SBS, 2003 Web Server or something else?
I have 2003 SBS and I want to run a php-nuke site of my home server, is the hassel worth it?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:15 am 
Maximum PC Editor
Maximum PC Editor
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 1:13 pm
Posts: 2308
I'm running Apache on Windows Server 2003. It's reasonably stable, but there's always some sort of problem. A hard drive conks out and it won't boot until I rebuild the RAID array. The switch it's connected to dies. The power conks out and I bounce email for 10 hours because the machine didn't restart itself.

The benefit is that when I need to work on the server, I just open up a fileshare and I open the file in my text editor.

It's just one thing after the other. As soon as I have some time, I'm just going to move the whole thing to a provider. I just need to find someone who supports the Perl extensions I need, and WebDAV.

///Will


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 11:53 am 
FoldingMonster
FoldingMonster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:47 pm
Posts: 1280
Location: My Rock & Stone Cathedral
Well, the sidebar I can see, but the rest of the site... nada.

Anyone else having trouble getting the site to load?

I'm dropping by from the office, so perhaps it's being blocked by our busy little IT gurus... but they've paid no attention in the past...

Probably just me... :roll:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ads by google side bar?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 6:06 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:10 am
Posts: 1839
Location: Left Coast
RickRock wrote:
Whats with that side bar on the homepage?


[edit] Nevermind. (I tried blocking them with my hosts file which slowed loading the whole site).


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group