Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:45 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Weird request
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:52 pm 

:?: Hi I am new to this so bear with me. I have received a call from a MICROSOFT TECH ? a few times this past year about fixing errors on my computer. He wants me to go to my computer to let him have access to it remotely. Sounds like a scam to me, I just tell him yea right, good bye. Anyone else receiving this? Everything works just fine, no problems or errors. The phone number is a dead end and caller ID, is unknown. Thanks fred

Post subject: Re: Weird request
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:27 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

fredholme wrote:
:?: Hi I am new to this so bear with me. I have received a call from a MICROSOFT TECH ? a few times this past year about fixing errors on my computer. He wants me to go to my computer to let him have access to it remotely. Sounds like a scam to me, I just tell him yea right, good bye. Anyone else receiving this? Everything works just fine, no problems or errors. The phone number is a dead end and caller ID, is unknown. Thanks fred

Yes, this is a known scam, just google "Microsoft tech scam". You will never receive a call from any major company without you initiating the contact, with the exception of your financial institutions. In fact, in this wonderful computer age, that's probably the best security advice I can give... if you did not initiate the contact, even with your financial institutions, it's a scam... don't open it, don't answer it, don't give any information including your name.