Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Graphics card queries
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 2:34 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 7:22 am
Posts: 59
Location: CANADA
I am looking at a new graphics card for my pc. I already know about the x800 and the GF6800 but what about this http://www.3dlabs.com/products/product.asp?prod=272 or for that mater any of 3d labs 512MB graphics cards. Is DDR3 better thatn 512 DDR?

Or what about the GF 6600 128MB?or x600? I am actually leanning toward the 6800 GT or x800 depends whitch I can get here in Canada. I just dont want to buy something and have it out dated.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 2:38 pm 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
the geforce 6800 videocards are a good choice and should last you a while. everything always gets outdated specially when it comes to technology. you can wait but when it comes time to buying your stuff, something better and faster will be out.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 2:51 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 953
whether u should get an ati card or a nvidia is card depends on ur preference, and about 3dlabs, they make cards strictly for workstations so idk if theyre good for gaming


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:43 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
There's a lot of cards that shouldn't be put into the desktop PC arean...Wildcat, Quadro, and ATI's FireGL (if they still make them) chip'ed cards. They're strictly for work and not play (CAD, Lightwave, DCC...).

Their strong points are really good for doing work, and are hard to live without if that's your line of work. Most game designers build their games using these and have no idea if what they create is really seen or not on our "toys". Their aim is detail and not frame-rates like we lean towards. Take a look back the Sept. '02 issue starting on page 46 for a real in depth look at workhorses.

"A gaming card might be able to display the scene, but it will do so with cracks in between textures, misplaced pixels, and missing pixels. The rendering defects aren't obvious when you're rushing through an environment at 60FPS."
-This is why you usually get a card out the door to the world, then see a driver update very soon there after. Then another. And another...

"...When you're doing mission-critical design work-such as rotating a fully rendered airplane part in realtime, sub-pixel accuracy is necessary to ensure the integrity of the work at hand"
- Can you imagine making gas-turbine engines on a machine that mis-places a pixel here and there? Outputting this design to manufacturing could lead to several birds falling out of the sky...that's usually not good.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:48 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
isnt the wildcat a "graphics" card as opposed to a "gaming" card


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card queries
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:43 am 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
NoFragingplz wrote:
Or what about the GF 6600 128MB?or x600? I am actually leanning toward the 6800 GT or x800 depends whitch I can get here in Canada. I just dont want to buy something and have it out dated.
Forgot to put my $.02 down on these...

The x600 is supposed to be aimed at the budget crowd, and once the 6600/6600 GT gets out it will be too. But they aren't now, as you may have noticed. These things should drop down around $120 pretty quick. I don't know what's going to make them do this, but that is the intentions I had thought from the get go. Maybe the PCIE bus needs to get higher off the ground to push the supply & demand to spark the sales decisions.

I wouldn't consider one of these unless you're cornered into it by having only a PCIE slot to use instead of an AGP, and THEN only if you need it running. an x600 is basically a 9600, and to pay $180-200 in which they're asking is not very wise when one can still get a 9800pro for the same price.

And if you worry about being outdated, you'll end up in a delima real quick and one day find yourself sitting around with your same old stuff because you never ordered. To put it into perspective: A GF4 Ti4200 is just now facing a wall that makes it out-dated. And that's only if you play Doom3 and FarCry, as it runs everything else. So...expect any of these cards to not be "out dated" any time soon. They just won't be king of the hill very long. It's something that's plagued the tech crowd for over 20yrs. Nothing new. Just don't strive to be the best, because you'll just end up losing and broke. Sorry to rain on your parade!

There's enough arguement going around on the 6800/x800's to ponder on without my comment. So I won't add mine (Get a BFG 6800GT!)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 8:26 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Temecula, CA
Yeah, what the other people said...

On my Main workstation I run a 3D Labs DDC Card, and it chugs sometimes on Diablo 2, but it renders literally 5 times faster and can handle twice the on screen geometry than my gaming computer with the same specs other than the video card. The gamer has a GeForce Ti4200.

The Drivers for Workstation cards are specifically designed for DDC and CAD. Therfore these cards will not run as fast as gaming cards for gaming. Except for Quadro cards with are very close to thier gaming counterparts. They actually run games decent.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 8:31 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:02 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Temecula, CA
BiggPa wrote:
isnt the wildcat a "graphics" card as opposed to a "gaming" card


Well, graphics cards are video cards, and gaming cards are graphics cards. Gaming cards are just graphics cards designed for gaming.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:02 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 7:22 am
Posts: 59
Location: CANADA
Im thinking of the x600 because its cheap and has a good clock speed stock.

though I really want a 6800 or X800 i cant afford it due to other hobbies.

so a buget card should be just fine for me.

But what about saphires 9600XT with 256MB I cant find the clock speed for this card.

Its cheaper for me to get than the X600 but im not to sure about the chipset


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:48 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:48 pm
Posts: 241
Location: Whispering Evil Things in your ear...
NoFragingplz wrote:
so a buget card should be just fine for me.

But what about saphires 9600XT with 256MB I cant find the clock speed for this card.

Its cheaper for me to get than the X600 but im not to sure about the chipset


x600's are ass, pardon my french.

Firstly, they are PCI-E only and if you're mincing around with $200 videocards, then you don't have a PCI-E/DDR2 system :-)

Secondly, they are only Radeon 9600XT's, which were OK last year. Compared to a 9800 Pro (~$195 USD), les alone a GeForce 6800 (~$280 USD) they look pretty weak.

Depending on how tight your budget is, I'd recommend the GFFX 5700 Ultra ($150 USD), 9800 Pro, or 6800.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 12:28 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
Beelzebubba9 wrote:
Firstly, they are PCI-E only and if you're mincing around with $200 videocards, then you don't have a PCI-E/DDR2 system
Actually I agree with the entire post, but would like to defend this one ;)

There isn't anything else BUT those stupid x600's for PCIE dudes and dudettes. Well, unless you want an PCX5750...or gawd forbid an x300. I gambled hard thinking that PCIE big boys would hit sooner than they did, yet still had to settle on an x600. Oh well. Just something else to shove in a drawer in a couple weeks:p


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 4:17 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:48 pm
Posts: 241
Location: Whispering Evil Things in your ear...
Chumly wrote:
There's a lot of cards that shouldn't be put into the desktop PC arean...Wildcat, Quadro, and ATI's FireGL (if they still make them) chip'ed cards. They're strictly for work and not play (CAD, Lightwave, DCC...).


nVidia's Quadro's and ATI's FireGL's use desktop GPU's and drivers derivative from their desktop products, so they are fine for games. I could find little to no difference in speed between the Fire GL1 and my Radeon 9700 in games.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: pci card into agp slot, possible y/n
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:24 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:13 am
Posts: 4
I got a pci video card and want to know if I can put it into the agp slot.
The 3 pci slots are occupied nic,usb2.0 +sound.
The mobo has intergrated graphic. According to the mobo specs. it says that it can accept a pci card at a higher speed than the pci slot. The voltages to both slots are the same. The pci video card is nvidia 5200 128mb.
So can I technically put the card there without frying the vid or mobo/cpu?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: pci card into agp slot, possible y/n
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:40 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
Ho Fi Mz-3 wrote:
I got a pci video card and want to know if I can put it into the agp slot.


a PCI video card isn't gonna fit in an AGP slot.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: pci card into agp slot, possible y/n
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:45 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 9:06 pm
Posts: 1508
Location: Mother/Daughterboard Orgy
Ho Fi Mz-3 wrote:
I got a pci video card and want to know if I can put it into the agp slot.
The 3 pci slots are occupied nic,usb2.0 +sound.
The mobo has intergrated graphic. According to the mobo specs. it says that it can accept a pci card at a higher speed than the pci slot. The voltages to both slots are the same. The pci video card is nvidia 5200 128mb.
So can I technically put the card there without frying the vid or mobo/cpu?


Like a square peg in a round hole...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:46 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 9:06 pm
Posts: 1508
Location: Mother/Daughterboard Orgy
Beelzebubba9 wrote:
Chumly wrote:
There's a lot of cards that shouldn't be put into the desktop PC arean...Wildcat, Quadro, and ATI's FireGL (if they still make them) chip'ed cards. They're strictly for work and not play (CAD, Lightwave, DCC...).


nVidia's Quadro's and ATI's FireGL's use desktop GPU's and drivers derivative from their desktop products, so they are fine for games. I could find little to no difference in speed between the Fire GL1 and my Radeon 9700 in games.


Of course, you'll be paying more for a pro card ;P


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 12:33 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:13 am
Posts: 4
o, thanks for your answers.
:wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 2:50 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
Beelzebubba9 wrote:
Chumly wrote:
There's a lot of cards that shouldn't be put into the desktop PC arean...Wildcat, Quadro, and ATI's FireGL (if they still make them) chip'ed cards. They're strictly for work and not play (CAD, Lightwave, DCC...).


nVidia's Quadro's and ATI's FireGL's use desktop GPU's and drivers derivative from their desktop products, so they are fine for games. I could find little to no difference in speed between the Fire GL1 and my Radeon 9700 in games.
speed may be one thing, quality the same? I can't do anything worth gamming on a Wildcat. It's "old" though. Maybe 2 years?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 4:20 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 7:22 am
Posts: 59
Location: CANADA
I found a good Radon 9800 Pro with DDR 2 looks better than the X600 just because of memory size, the 6800 is a bit pricey.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group