Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: What's required for Nvidia's SLI?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:08 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 6:14 am
Posts: 83
Location: Florida
What are the motherboard requirements for Nvidia's SLI? For example, would this motherboard work - Iwill DN800-SATA http://www.iwill.net/products/ProductDe ... 231&CID=91 - or does it have to have 2x 16x PCI-E slots?

I'm really looking forward to trying out a dual Xeon, SLI system!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:20 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
well, i know it has to one x16 and one x8 slot and at the moment i dont think there are any boards on the market that support sli.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: shopping list for SLI
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:25 am 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
your shopping list for SLI greatness
Mobo w/1 16x slot and another 8X or another 16X
2 Nvidia (or voodoo if your old school) cards that are SLI compatable
SLI adapter to connect two cards
good cooling
big wallet


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:30 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 6:14 am
Posts: 83
Location: Florida
Ah! The Iwill board has a 16x and a 8x slot. So I would just need a couple of Geforce cards that are SLI compatible.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:32 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
Florida Doc wrote:
Ah! The Iwill board has a 16x and a 8x slot. So I would just need a couple of Geforce cards that are SLI compatible.
you have to make sure it will fit the two cards for sli, i mean you need enoughe space between the slots because the 6800ultra is obviously a 2 slot solution so you will need 4 free slots.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's required for Nvidia's SLI?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:37 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:48 pm
Posts: 241
Location: Whispering Evil Things in your ear...
Florida Doc wrote:
What are the motherboard requirements for Nvidia's SLI? For example, would this motherboard work - Iwill DN800-SATA http://www.iwill.net/products/ProductDe ... 231&CID=91 - or does it have to have 2x 16x PCI-E slots?

I'm really looking forward to trying out a dual Xeon, SLI system!


Just to clarify what's already been posted. For nVidia's SLI, you need:

Two SLI capable PCI-E video cards (duh). The following will be SLI compatable:
- GeForce 6800 Ultra
- GeForce 6800 GT
- GeForce 6600 GT

A motherboard with two PCI-E x16 COMPATABLE slots. They can be an x16 and an x4 (or x8), it's just that the slot has to be able to physically accept the card.

nVidia drivers, SLI dongle, etc.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:38 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:48 pm
Posts: 241
Location: Whispering Evil Things in your ear...
athlon11 wrote:
you have to make sure it will fit the two cards for sli, i mean you need enoughe space between the slots because the 6800ultra is obviously a 2 slot solution so you will need 4 free slots.


Both the 6800 GT and 6600 GT (one slot reference designs) are SLI compatable.

Why you'd want them that close, I don;t know. I'd love to see an OTES like cooling system for SLI setups myself...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's required for Nvidia's SLI?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:42 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Beelzebubba9 wrote:
They can be an x16 and an x4 (or x8), it's just that the slot has to be able to physically accept the card.


I heard that x :cry: works, as well as x :o ,x :twisted: , and the most important one, x :wink:

To clarify, x8) =x8, as I'm sure most everyone figured out...just couldn't resist being a smartas5 Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:54 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24336
Location: South of heaven
Oh crap...that's teh funny!

BBcode can turn an intelligent post into AOL level chat with a stroke of a key. PCIE and DVD posts are going to be some fun ones to watch!


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group