Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:03 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:33 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:02 am
Posts: 59
I'm going to be upgrading my GeForce GTX 470 to the GTX 590 but I have a question. This video card is demanding power wise, it requires a 700w PSU. As of now, I have an OCZ 850w PSU. Never had any problems with my rig and I've had it for a year. Would it be wise to upgrade to a 1000w PSU maybe or am I fine with what I have?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:34 am 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6125
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
If you're going to stick with a single GPU then you should be fine.

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:00 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:02 am
Posts: 59
I should probably also address another issue. I hear this card is HUGE. I have an mAtx mobo, its a MSI 890GXM-G65. Would this card even fit on the motherboard considering its size?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:10 am 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6125
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
It's not the size of the board but the size of the case.

Also, some cases have a brace for extra long/heavy cards.

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:17 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:02 am
Posts: 59
My tower is quite big, its a Cooler Master CM690, but i feel like the mounting of the mobo to the case also dictates whether the card fits or not.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:20 am 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6125
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
I have the CM 690 II. Have you checked about the length of the card?

I don't know about the first 690, but the second generation came with the brace I'm talking about to hold videocards in place.

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:28 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:02 am
Posts: 59
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6811119216

Let me know what you think, I looked at yours but I can't seem to tell if they both have it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:42 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:02 am
Posts: 59
n0b0dykn0ws, what are your rigs specs?

I'm contemplating just getting the GTX 580 instead being my monitors top resolution is 1920x1080 and it might be overkill to get the 590. What do you think?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:26 pm 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6125
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
I have a single Radeon 5870 driving a 1680x1050.

A single 580 will work fine for most games and save you money (initial cost, power, and cooling).

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:57 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:02 am
Posts: 59
I just updated Crysis 2 to the DX11 1.9 patch, and the game no longer ruins fluidly on my system which is depressing. I get low frames around 10FPS in heavy moments of the game and it averages around 20-25 FPS most of the time in DX11. I find it a little hard to believe the GTX 470 plays so poorly in DX11 for this game. What do you think?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:46 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 12:16 am
Posts: 1242
What's your resolution? RAM? Processor?

Did you remember to update your driver?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:35 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:02 am
Posts: 59
I got the GTX 580. Card is a beauty. My question is, how did my Windows rating go from a 7.8 to a 7.5 for the GPU when clearly a GTX 580 > GTX470?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 9:59 am 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6125
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
Ppk487 wrote:
I got the GTX 580. Card is a beauty. My question is, how did my Windows rating go from a 7.8 to a 7.5 for the GPU when clearly a GTX 580 > GTX470?


n0b0dykn0ws

Did you try running it multiple times?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 10:27 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:02 am
Posts: 59
I ran it a few times. I had a 7.8 rating with the GTX 470, I did it again and I have a 7.7 with the GTX 580. There is no way you go down 0.1 with this card. This thing is a monster. How it isnt a 7.9 is beyond me.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:10 am 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6125
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
Did you upgrade to the latest release drivers?

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:32 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:02 am
Posts: 59
Yes I did, I didn't even install the drivers from the disk. I went straight to nVidia's site and got them from there.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:42 am 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6125
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
I personally wouldn't worry.

I've never heard of any software dumbing itself down because of your Windows rating, it's just a loose reference.

Now if any of your games are giving you issues, or you've run other benchmarks and lost speed/features, I would check the drivers first.

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about the GeForce GTX 590
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:36 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 9:02 am
Posts: 59
definitely (note that it is spelled correctly) not the case with gaming. Crysis 2 with DX11 enabled and all settings maximized gives me beautiful visuals with a smooth framerate that never dips below 25 FPS even in the most stressful times. I'm satisfied gaming wise.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.