Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:36 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Nvidia Optimus. Share your thoughts
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:18 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 10:18 pm
Posts: 936
Location: Malaysia
As refer to my previous post (here), I find it can be sometimes annoying since user has to manually set the game profile to use the Discrete GPU (Nvidia, in my case) rather than letting the system to set it automatically.

For my experience, it started when I was playing Starcraft 2 Multiplayer and noticed the graphic performance was not as smooth as previous games. In the end, I just reinstalled the driver from my notebook manufacturer site and re-do the game profile and force SC2 to run on 'High Performance Nvidia Processor' rather on 'Use Global Setting: Auto-Select: Nvidia GPU'.

What are your thoughts (those who are using) on it? :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nvidia Optimus. Share your thoughts
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:50 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:07 pm
Posts: 8
zioburosky13 wrote:
As refer to my previous post (here), I find it can be sometimes annoying since user has to manually set the game profile to use the Discrete GPU (Nvidia, in my case) rather than letting the system to set it automatically.

For my experience, it started when I was playing Starcraft 2 Multiplayer and noticed the graphic performance was not as smooth as previous games. In the end, I just reinstalled the driver from my notebook manufacturer site and re-do the game profile and force SC2 to run on 'High Performance Nvidia Processor' rather on 'Use Global Setting: Auto-Select: Nvidia GPU'.

What are your thoughts (those who are using) on it? :)


NVIDIA gave me an Optimus laptop (UL50VF) to check out when it launched, it worked pretty well for me. I wanted some more horsepower on the cpu and gpu, just bought a MSI FX603, again with Optimus. I work on the road sometimes, might need battery life, to game, or to run some big queries or reports so Optimus works out well for me.

I had an Asus ROG laptop with a GTX260M in it prior to this, battery was always dying in airports. That said, I've never played Starcraft on a laptop, so I can't dispute that there are games that need to be manually set. (I wouldn't expect that to be one, but I'm not going to install it to see) Better to have than not, IMO.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group