Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 10:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HDMI audio is only 2 channels??? ATI 6850
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:52 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 5:10 pm
Posts: 6
I recently purchased an XFX 6850 for my home theater pc. I wanted this card because I read it was good for gaming and great for video and Blu-Ray. I wanted a video and sound solution for simplicity. Well I am having some issues with the sound portion.
After installing the card and the drivers I go to Windows Sound in the control panel and when I click on HDMI audio, I only see 2 speakers. This card outputs via HDMI to my Onkio 7.1 Receiver.
While watching movies and Blu-Ray, I hear all 8 channels. However when I play games and listen to other content I only get stereo sound! I installed Dirt 2 Demo, and it looks great, but since Windows is only reporting to the game the computer has 2 speakers, then the game only outputs to the pair. How do I get Windows to recognize all 8 channels??? Is there some setup I am missing to modify the sound setup in the CCC?
HTPC is:
XFX 6850 w/ Latest Catalyst drivers
Windows 7 Ult. x64
Asus P5Q Pro
Intel q9550
Happauge Tuners x3
ATI Tuner PCIe
Seagate hard drives x9
Intel SSD G1 80GB
3Ware SATA RAID Controller 9650


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HDMI audio is only 2 channels??? ATI 6850
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 1:18 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
It's a confusing mess I wish they'd all clarify really. The video card is not a sound card and has no sound creating area of it on the board. What it has is a processor that passes along signals from other points; with the best intent of 1:1. What you're actually facing is onboard sourced audio, it's passing it to the bus, up the card and it's processor, and out the back via the HDMI mixed signal.

I'd suggest to skip Windows sound and dealing with the driver set for the actual processing chip on your board (Realtek ALC1200). Set it to 5.1 and go from there.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group