Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 2:17 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Using a 5870 as a capture card
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:19 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:15 pm
Posts: 305
Hey all, Ill get right to the point,

Can I use my 5870 with a HDMI port to capture video off an HDMI source?
If not, what's a good choice for a capture card that can capture in either 720 or 1080p HDMI?

Thanks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 5870 as a capture card
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:21 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
It's output only. What cable/sat box and provider do you have?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 5870 as a capture card
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:33 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:15 pm
Posts: 305
This is actually for an xbox 360. Since I wanted the native resolution I run at, I wanted to run with HDMI. There's also the fact that I use my 1080p monitor that only has DVI/HDMI connectivity.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 5870 as a capture card
PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:02 pm 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6125
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
Do you care about which application is used to record?

If not: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6815100049

Won't support HDCP material, but it also includes component input.

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 5870 as a capture card
PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:21 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:15 pm
Posts: 305
I was looking at this, but it doesn't support full 1080p and 720p would look bad on a 27inch 1080p PC monitor. I may just have to deal with it though.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 5870 as a capture card
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:17 am 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6125
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
Looking around it doesn't look like many 360 games support 1080p, so if they are 720p/1080i you shouldn't notice too much of a difference.

Are you using the monitor now to play games? If so, look at the game case and see if it states the resolution.

I think you'll be surprised.

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using a 5870 as a capture card
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:00 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:15 pm
Posts: 305
The game I'm concerned with recording is in 1080p (mw2) so I think I might as well shell out for a decent card. Is the blackmagic intensity a good choice?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group