Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 3:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SLI question...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:59 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 12:28 am
Posts: 262
Location: Sleeping...
Quick question. I've searched around on the web, different forums, etc and cannot seem to find a consistent answer.

Is it possible to run SLI using a 4GB GTX670 and a 2GB GTX670?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: spelling


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SLI question...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:39 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:55 am
Posts: 21
Yes, although the extra 2GBs on the first card will NOT be utilized. But other than that, It's completely possible.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SLI question...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:05 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 12:28 am
Posts: 262
Location: Sleeping...
You see, that's what I had always believed as well. Here's the back story:

I purchased a second GTX670 off of eBay to help push my 30" HP monitor in the more demanding games. The card I bought was advertised as the 4GB model (same as the one I already had). When I got the card and installed it, then went into the nvidia control panel and the option to enable SLI was not present. So, I did what I thought was logical;
- reseated the card
- checked the SLI bridge
- checked for updated drivers (used natsymans method for installing them)
- restarted the computer a couple of times in the process of course
- checked the device manager to make sure the card was recognized
- checked my BIOS for options, etc.

When nothing seemed to work, I downloaded GPU-Z, and guess what? The second card I bought was in fact, a 2GB version (a whole different topic devoted to what I may have to do to address that wrong doing on the seller’s part).

Regardless, I always thought the mismatched memory (4GB and 2GB) would work, but as it stands the option to enable SLI is not present in the nvidia control panel. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SLI question...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:18 am 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 4545
If you thought you bought a 4GB version but it's reporting 2GB, then run the system with just the 4GB and see if it reports 4GB.

And I suppose just for craps and laughs, make sure the 4GB card is in the primary slot, i.e., it's the master.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SLI question...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:20 am 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:22 pm
Posts: 4406
Location: In the closet
Just think of mismatched gpu memory in SLI/XF like mismatched hdd's in RAID0. The lowest common denominator is what you're left with.

Hmmm, master vs. slave configuration for gpu's? ....very interesting. Nice thinking.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SLI question...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:30 am 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 4545
kleinkinstein wrote:
Hmmm, master vs. slave configuration for gpu's? ....very interesting. Nice thinking.

This shouldn't really matter though, if the slave is better than the master, it should gate itself to match the master.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SLI question...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:48 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 12:28 am
Posts: 262
Location: Sleeping...
Good advice. I removed the second card (and upon closer inspection I noticed a small sticker on the back side that says: GeForce GTX670 2G 02G-P4-2670-B6. Ran that through google and it will take you right to a newegg page for the 2GB version)

Anyway, with the 2nd card removed the remaining card registers 4GB.

As far as it being in the master slot, I have the 4GB card in the uppermost slot on my motherboard. I wiuld assume that is it?

If it matters, the rest of my specs are:

i5-3570 (not currently overclocked)
Asus Sabertooth Z77
16GB Corsair DDR3 1600
90GB OCZ SSD
1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
Corsair H100
all in a Corsair 650D
HPZR30w
Catleap 27"
Samsung SyncMaster 245t


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SLI question...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:49 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 4545
Aha. You can't mix and match cards of different memory sizes. Driver version 100.xx nixed that feature. It doesn't help that NVIDIA's FAQ is outdated too.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SLI question...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:54 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 12:28 am
Posts: 262
Location: Sleeping...
I see. I had read that (can't remember exactly where), but as I had also read a conflicting answer I was hoping it was not true. It appears the news was slow to get out. Regardless, thank you (both) for your help.

I guess I will re-sell the 2GB version (this time correctly advertised) and look into getting another 4GB to match.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SLI question...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:05 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 4545
mrmarrero wrote:
I guess I will re-sell the 2GB version (this time correctly advertised) and look into getting another 4GB to match.

Brand and how much is it going for? :P


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SLI question...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:12 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 12:28 am
Posts: 262
Location: Sleeping...
LatiosXT wrote:
mrmarrero wrote:
I guess I will re-sell the 2GB version (this time correctly advertised) and look into getting another 4GB to match.

Brand and how much is it going for? :P


I think it's against the forum rules to sell items, however it is eVGA and if your serious about buying it PM me, I'll give you a fair price and free shipping...


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group