Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 2:27 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Shotgunning with dual gigabit lan
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:02 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 12:25 am
Posts: 281
Remeber when you could use two modems to double your bandwidth. I think it was called shotgunning. Is it possible to do the same with a dual gigabit lan borad?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 9:49 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:56 am
Posts: 450
Location: MN
Maybe these links will help

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark, ... ~mode=flat

http://www.xincom.com/


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 9:32 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 12:25 am
Posts: 281
Thanks chris 8)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shotgunning with dual gigabit lan
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 5:02 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
Minky wrote:
Remeber when you could use two modems to double your bandwidth. I think it was called shotgunning. Is it possible to do the same with a dual gigabit lan borad?


I thought it was called Multilink PPP?

:wink:

I haven't gone in and read the info on the links that Chris posted yet....However, back-in-the-day with Multilink PPP the users connection had to terminate both dial calls on the same chasis in order for the calls to bind...it also had to be supported s/w wise at the chasis as well.

Without a routing protocol between the provider and you to facilitate bandwidth sharing I don't believe this can be done at layer3.

...and I'm pretty sure you can't do it with two different providers...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 5:49 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 12:25 am
Posts: 281
check that link


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 8:44 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
Minky wrote:
check that link



Hmmmm. yea. Couldn't find any white papers or anything that explains how it is done.

looks pretty cool, I guess...I'm still skeptical.

Side note. your fastest speeds are limited by the smallest connection that the data is traversing.

I currently get 3Mbps on my cable connection...and as I would like more more more like most people...I don't really see it as economically viable. My speeds are fast enough in most cases where I rarely find myself saying "I wish I had more bandwidth" (except upstream of course). The benefit would be for BIG downloads, which are infrequent for me...

not to mention DOUBLE the cost.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 9:11 am 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
the real use for this reliability. if i hosted my own sites in my house i'd buy that router and put a dsl and cable connection on it. that way if one fails the other one is instantly used and i have 0 downtime.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 9:51 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
gramaton cleric wrote:
the real use for this reliability. if i hosted my own sites in my house i'd buy that router and put a dsl and cable connection on it. that way if one fails the other one is instantly used and i have 0 downtime.


That makes sense.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 5:24 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:51 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Flamin' the kitty since 198433.
It's reasonable, reliable, and if you set it up to shotgun the two connections, it's damn fast. I've owned the Xincom DPG-402 and DPG-502, and they were great routers.

Note that the 402 only has 10Mbps WAN ports.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:44 am 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
if you have a good router with good load balancing it really will feel like you have two cable or DSL or t1 connections. if you get a cheaper one you'll get something like 150% the bandwith. of the connection your doubling up.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group