Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:44 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: sharing dsl with a pc and mac please help?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:27 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:42 am
Posts: 723
Location: 41° 22' 14.12"N 72° 55' 07.40"W
Ok guys im definitely not a networking guru here but im having such a hard time getting my girlfriends mac to share our DSL connection. I have a linksys router hooked up and the mac can see the router. I've even got into the linksys firmware from the mac but still no web access...please share your knowledge..


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 2:03 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Need more info.

Which Linksys Router did you get?
What version of MacOS is her Mac running?
How is the Mac connecting to the Router? (Wire or Wireless?)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 2:10 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:42 am
Posts: 723
Location: 41° 22' 14.12"N 72° 55' 07.40"W
not sure the model of the linksys but its the very common one. believe she got it at a radio shack. its hard wired with a new 25 foot cat 5 cable. and its running mac os 10. one of them bubbly imac's.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 3:00 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Ok, click on the happy apple icon on your gf's Mac, scroll down to system preferences and hit that, then double click on the Network icon, and when that loads up click on Built In Ethernet and tell me what it says on that screen.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 11:25 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:42 am
Posts: 723
Location: 41° 22' 14.12"N 72° 55' 07.40"W
looks like she has it set on Ppoe with her username and password. it recognizes the ip address and under the etenet tab its set up on automatic. ohh and the router model number is the BEFSR41.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:44 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
If your DSL is the PPPoE type, remove the PPPoE username and password from the Mac and add that to your router.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:43 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:42 am
Posts: 723
Location: 41° 22' 14.12"N 72° 55' 07.40"W
ok when you say remove them from the mac and place them in the router i would do that by tapping into the router's firmware correct.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 1:00 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Yes


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chaosdsm and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group