Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:18 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WRT54GS Port Forwarding
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 10:10 am 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
Traded in the old wired MS router for a new wireless Linksys, WRT54GS.

The MS router let me add 30 different port forwarders, the linksys will only let me forward 10 at a time. This is a real pain in the ass because I run a few game servers, teamspeak and vnc, usually all at the same time. It was nice having everything forwarded where it needed to go, but now i have to disable one game to play another. Raven shield alone uses 4 spots, teamspeak using 3, so you can see my dilema.

Is there a way to increase the amount of ports i can forward? Ive looked in the router config and cant seem to find anything in there. Wondering if there might be a hack for it or something else i might be able to do. Anyone have any ideas?

**EDIT** By hack, I mean a legal fix for this issue of course


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 10:22 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
with my linksys router i can forward a range of ports, look for that option in your router


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:09 pm 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
Yeah, I started thinking, and I guess I can change all my games and comms to a cetain range, 8000-8050, then this would give me 50 different ports available on a certain IP. That might be the way to go. Just means I have to run everything from 1 computer. Hmmm...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 10:13 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:54 pm
Posts: 150
I know almost nothing about this but there MAY be a hacked firmware for your router which MAY do what you want...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:30 am 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
v3.37.2 - HyperWRT 2.0b4, Jan. 7, 2005

I found this on the net, working great so far, gave me twice as many port forwarders. Hope it might help someone else out as well.

Tons of features in it too.

http://www.hyperdrive.be/hyperwrt/


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:02 pm 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
Update..

Not sure if its the router or the firmware I upgraded to, but when logging into comm servers and game servers my IP is reported as the router private IP (192.168.1.1) not my public IP. Now, before I upgraded, my normal IP was listed under TeamSpeak and Raven Shield, now its the private one. Not sure if it has anything to do with me hosting the comms/games, ill try a different server later and see what happens. Be pretty cool if it had me masked somehow, lol.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group