Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 6:28 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 2 Nics + wireless question
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 4:27 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
okay my comp has two on Board nics(asus A7n8x-e Deluxe) i was wondering if i plug in two ethernet cables from my switch, can i bridge one of them to my onboard Asus Wifi card so i can connect wirelessly to a comp that i want to put in my closet and just let it run. well i know that can be done, but heres my question can i do that and still use my other NIC as the main one in my comp for everything else, basically i want my 2nd nic to go straight to the wireless and not affect my primary nic, which is gigabit, compared to 100mbit


edit
o yeah i will put a drawing of what i want to do in a few minutes
*runs off to paint*

edit for pic
Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 7:34 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
I guess you could...Your PC would need to act as a router...

You would need some static routes that would point traffic destined for the wireless through the Ethernet interface..I have never done that but I'm sure its 'google-able'.

Question...Why not jsut connect a WAP to the switch?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 9:03 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:25 am
Posts: 5179
If I'm not mistaken, you should just be able to put the wireless adapters in Ad-hoc mode to talk directly to eachother (since there's not wireless AP). Then, you would just enable ICS*, so that your main PC becomes a sort of gateway between that PC and the internet.


*=assuming you have an OS that supports ICS, like XP.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 12:42 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 7:51 am
Posts: 607
Location: 127.0.0.1
TWBalls wrote:
*=assuming you have an OS that supports ICS, like XP.


... in the absence of ICS IP Masquerading/NAT can be used.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group