Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 5:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Lan gaming difficulties
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 8:54 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 4:49 am
Posts: 9
I am trying to set up a lan gaming party. I can have no problem with setup using a linksys hub for both computer, they are in the same workgroup
comp 1) 10.10.10.1
comp 2) 10.10.10.2
both are setup for 255.255.255.0
all the protocols are on internet tcp/ip and ipx/spx
netbios is enabled ovet tcp/ip
comp one have local area and 1394 connections bridged
comp two has the same only not bridged
I can play games togather but only under the internet setting in the game never under LAN. Both games are the same ver, both comps are XP ser pack 2, firewalls are off. pls help me this is killing me :?: :!: :?: :!: :shock:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lan gaming difficulties
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 11:22 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 11:43 am
Posts: 663
combatmedic wrote:
I can play games togather but only under the internet setting in the game never under LAN.


??? Isn't that what you're trying to do? Play on LAN? i'm not really understanding your issue.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lan gaming difficulties
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:10 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
combatmedic wrote:
I can play games togather but only under the internet setting in the game never under LAN. Both games are the same ver, both comps are XP ser pack 2, firewalls are off. pls help me this is killing me :?: :!: :?: :!: :shock:


Can you be more specific with regards to the equipment you're using?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:16 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Nevermind I figured out a possible problem you have.

Try switching your IP Addresses to the following ranges and see what happens:

Comp 1) = 10.0.0.1
Comp 2) = 10.0.0.2

TCP/IP is good
IPX/SPX is only needed for older games like Diablo, Starcraft, Doom II, etc
I'm not sure if you even need NetBIOS running over TCP/IP


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:33 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 4:49 am
Posts: 9
I am never able to play games between two computer using LAN setting in the game, only some games I can play on the network but thats using the internet setting in the game and not lan. I go into the game click on multiplayer then I have to select internet and hope I can connect I am never click on network and have it work right if at all


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:18 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 11:43 am
Posts: 663
oic. how are the two computers in the windows network? can u share between them? ping each other? try the dxdiag lan test: start > run > dxdiag > network tab > test directplay. if you can't chat, start over. if you can play some games and not others, check the ports of the games and make sure they're configured on the router. if you're only on a hub, nevermind that last one.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 3:11 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 4:49 am
Posts: 9
I changed the IPs to
comp1 10.0.0.1
comp2 10.0.0.2

ran dxdiag and you can chat between them :)
but still unable to play games multiplay network only multiplayer internet
are there some protocols that I can shut off or not have or should have, because I have a ton listed


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:25 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 8:15 pm
Posts: 31
Since you can talk to each other through the network, there's most likely a software issue.

If you are not able to see each other's machines in LAN games, make sure you turn off Windows Firewall if running Windows XP SP2 (or if you're using Zonealarm or what have you). Or set it up so you can access your network by putting the other PC(s) IPs in the "allowed zone" or whatever it's called on your firewall software.

If that doesn't work, disable antivirus and any other programs before running your game.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:31 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
:lol: Changing the IPs would make no diff...all of 10.x.x.x is the private Class A range....

Windows workgroup crap would have no impact either...IPX, kick it to the curb.

The newer games are palin-vanilla IP...so if you can ping each machine from the other, then you should be cool at layer 3...

I agree with the previous comment that it has to be software related somehow.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.