Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:30 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: internet connection problems
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 9:01 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 8:55 pm
Posts: 2
Location: MD
I just turned on my computer one day and for some reason i can't connect to the internet
i've tried connecting the dsl modem directly into the nic(I usually go through a router)
i've bought another network card and same problem
i've done the network trouble shooter thing on xp and it shows that i have 4 network cards. I moved the cards into different PCI slots and teh trouble shooter showed that those cards were still in windows
but when i click on network places it shows two cards(which is right)
when i click repair it says repairing failed contact network admin
release and renew dont help neither
plz help
thanks
i've bought a new nic and new cables and it still doesnt work

responds i got from another forum
http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=260150


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: internet connection problems
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 5:36 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:13 pm
Posts: 817
Location: Missouri
stunna wrote:
I just turned on my computer one day and for some reason i can't connect to the internet
i've tried connecting the dsl modem directly into the nic(I usually go through a router)
i've bought another network card and same problem
i've done the network trouble shooter thing on xp and it shows that i have 4 network cards. I moved the cards into different PCI slots and teh trouble shooter showed that those cards were still in windows
but when i click on network places it shows two cards(which is right)
when i click repair it says repairing failed contact network admin
release and renew dont help neither
plz help
thanks
i've bought a new nic and new cables and it still doesnt work

responds i got from another forum
http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=260150


Please provide as much information as you can on the configuration on your PC. Please go to command prompt and type in without quotes "ipconfig" then press enter. Post the information here.

Do the same thing but this time type "ping 127.0.0.1" and enter. Please post information here. Finally do it one last time but type in "ping www.yahoo.com" and press enter. Again post what response you got.

Try going to 192.168.1.1 in your browser. This will give you access to your DSL modem. Make sure everything is setup properly there.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 2:16 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 8:55 pm
Posts: 2
Location: MD
I figured out the problem. I ran search and destroy program and it found a adware/virus that stopped my PC from gettin info from the network card
the virus infected some sock thing on my pc


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group