Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:02 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: How I resolved my problem.
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:58 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:27 am
Posts: 65
Location: Saint Paul, MN
I thought I would post-back what I did to resolve my problem (I hope.).

I have a 400 mile drive ahead of me before I can test the solution, so I do not know whether it will work or not. I bought a 5-port Linksys SD205 10/100 switch to put upstairs. I figure that the DGS-2208 downstairs isn't exactly broken--although it will not auto-negotiate over that flaky wire--so I am not going to change it. The Linksys SD205 is supposed to have some repeater-like features in it, which should be helpful. The SD205 did not receive consistently high reviews, but I could not find any 10/100 switch which did.

Thank you all for the help! :-)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Apology to Hitman and Explanation of Solution
PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:59 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:27 am
Posts: 65
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Hi,

This is an old thread, but I finally understand that Hitman was correct all along, and I understand exactly why. I am writing primarily as a public apology.

The electrician who wired the house--and who did not know what he was trying to do--tried to wire both telephone and Internet off the same Cat5e cable. (Maybe even Cat5.) Therefore, I did not have four pairs of wire, because two wires were taken out for the telephone.

As Hitman--and others--correctly stated, the two gigabit switches could never negotiate a connection speed, because they did not have four pairs of wires on which to negotiate. They only had two working pairs, so the *maximum* speed they could negotiate was 10/100.

At the time I was hightly emotionally involved, and I did not want to admit that I had been misled by both the electrician who wired the house *and* the electrical engineer (network "expert") I hired to try to "clean up the mess." The EE was not aware that I could *never* get gigabit speed; but *he* should have known better. 10/100 is the best I can ever hope for over that non-standard wiring.

Thank you for all the help, and I apologize if I wasted anybody's time.

Jim


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group