Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Building the ulimate home network.....
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 1:02 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 7:32 pm
Posts: 1828
Location: Honolulu
If u had a two level house and 4 computers (2 downstairs and 2 upstairs) what equimnet would u use to ge the best connectivty, security, and speed.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 1:45 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 1176
I have many computers both upstairs and downstairs in my two-story house.

Luckily, the company that built it wired it with CAT-5 already.

They wanted us to pay $200 for each port, but my dad told them to f*** off and did all the ends himself (they left the wiring intact, just didn't connect it to the sockets).

We have a cable modem, router, and hub downstairs in a closet, where all the LAN, Satellite, Cable, and Phone lines meet.

If you don't have a pre-existing setup like that, then go with wireless (with WEP).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 11:51 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 12:47 pm
Posts: 60
Location: SouthWest of Milwaukee, WI
i have 4 computers in a two story house. (2 desktops, 2 laptops) i have one pc plugged in by ethernet and the rest wireless. it is simple. get a linksys wrt54g router. within the past month i have seen a lot of deals on this router for about $50 at best buy, so keep your eyes open. if you can try to connect the 2 downstairs computers by ehternet. for the upstairs buy a wireless card (wireless card plug in by pci preferrebly) for security you can encrypt your wireless network or you can just use a MAC address filter.

here is the router that i have
http://www.linksys.com/products/product ... 5&prid=601

here is the wirless card that i have
http://www.linksys.com/products/product ... 6&prid=635

it works perfect and i can get good range


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Building the ulimate home network.....
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 12:16 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
RickRock wrote:
If u had a two level house and 4 computers (2 downstairs and 2 upstairs) what equimnet would u use to ge the best connectivty, security, and speed.


Catagory 6 with Gigabit Equipment or maybe that new Catagory 7?

Have you seen the 12 pin connectors for Cat7? They look really cool, but they also look like a pain in the ass to install in a wall socket.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 12:39 pm 
M-Powered
M-Powered
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:36 am
Posts: 2504
Location: Nürburgring
GBE (3Com 5 or 8-port 10/100/1000 switch) with a WatchGuard Firebox X5.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 8:27 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 7:32 pm
Posts: 1828
Location: Honolulu
BigmanJayman wrote:
i have 4 computers in a two story house. (2 desktops, 2 laptops) i have one pc plugged in by ethernet and the rest wireless. it is simple. get a linksys wrt54g router. within the past month i have seen a lot of deals on this router for about $50 at best buy, so keep your eyes open. if you can try to connect the 2 downstairs computers by ehternet. for the upstairs buy a wireless card (wireless card plug in by pci preferrebly) for security you can encrypt your wireless network or you can just use a MAC address filter.

here is the router that i have
http://www.linksys.com/products/product ... 5&prid=601

here is the wirless card that i have
http://www.linksys.com/products/product ... 6&prid=635

it works perfect and i can get good range


do u not have a signal booster? Do u ever have problems with the computers upstairs dropping connections?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:31 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
RickRock wrote:
do u not have a signal booster? Do u ever have problems with the computers upstairs dropping connections?


I've got a Linksys 802.11a AP on the second floor at my place and I have no problems connecting from the first floor despite 802.11a's reduced range.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 1:42 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 1:25 am
Posts: 1
Location: Undisclosed Location, NY
myself, i'm networking my house wired. ive got a linksys router in my room and im right next to the stairs, so i pass the cable line out the bottom of the door, under the rug and through the crack to the closet under the stairs. this is how imna connect my mom's computer to the router.

this proves that if you're anal-retentive enough, you can hide a wired network.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:43 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:54 pm
Posts: 150
If you don't need max speed among the upstairs to downstairs computers, here's what I'd suggest:

Set up the router, say, downstairs and wire all the computers downstairs. Then buy a game adapter - such adapter, which basically picks up the signal and transmits it to the wired-network. Put one of them upstairs and wire all the upstairs computers to that.

With this arrangement, you have max speed going from upstairs-upstairs computers and from downstairs-downstairs computers. Sending a file from upstairs-downstairs though, will have to go wireless, which is slow. If you dont want to run a wire from upstairs to downstairs, this might be the best solution.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Building the ulimate home network.....
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 8:34 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:10 am
Posts: 1839
Location: Left Coast
RickRock wrote:
If u had a two level house and 4 computers (2 downstairs and 2 upstairs) what equimnet would u use to ge the best connectivty, security, and speed.


Wired will give you the best of all three but is not always possible in a two story home (actually it is but might be extremely difficult). Before you buy any networking hardware at all, carefully study how the house is built and determine exactly how you would get CAT-5 from one floor to the other and from room to room. You may have to run 200 feet of cable to go 10 feet... which is ok since you're allowed 328 feet from each computer to the router. You might need a fish tape to run down walls (which usually have firebreaks inside). If you decide it isn't worth the cost or the hassle then all or partial wireless would be your best option.

I have a single story house with four wired PCs and getting all of the CAT-5 inside the walls was not easy.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 8:56 am 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
We own another house in phili. It is 4 stories and we connect with a wireless router. It is one of the more expenisive and powerfull linksys but it works like a charm.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group