Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:08 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DSL networking questions
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2004 10:57 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 87
Location: NYC
Hey all,

My dad wants up to set up a DSL network between a laptop and a desktop @ his office, but i have one question:

Would the connection be 24/7 like cable or would each computer have to dial up everytime they want to connect? Im not buying seperate IP's for the computers, so it would be NAT(I think).


Victor


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 11:54 am 
Professional Dork
Professional Dork
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 1246
Location: Cornhole County
Depends if the connection uses PPPoE or not.

Here's a the network I have at home:
Image

But as you can see, I have a cable modem which is truly always on. I honestly don't know enough about DSL to know if you need a special router for it to set up.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 7:05 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 6:59 am
Posts: 1
DSL is an always-on connection. you would still need a router too use it on more then one comp at a time. no dial-in need hook the dsl modem into the router and then the computers into the switch that is built into the router and away you go.
P.S. it helps if everthing has power also :-)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 5:24 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
The Cap'n is correct. If it's run-of-the-mill DSL it is always on (just like cable). I have never actually used PPPOE but my understanding of how it works is:

You setup an 'Internet Connection' in Wondoze similar to a dial-up connection (username and password shtuff). Windoze will encapsulate PPP over the Ethernet connection to your provider. Now what I am not sure about is if the providers nowadays still time you out based on inactivity or timelimits. I would think if this is the case, you would need to 'click the icon' again to reconnect.

I didn't think too many DSL providers still used PPPOE, but I may be mistaken.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 7:59 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 87
Location: NYC
Thanks!

So now all i basically have to do is buy a few CAT cables and a router, i was just confused about the dial-up thing.

Vic


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 1:17 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
HK-47 wrote:
Depends if the connection uses PPPoE or not.

Here's a the network I have at home:
Image

But as you can see, I have a cable modem which is truly always on. I honestly don't know enough about DSL to know if you need a special router for it to set up.


pretty heavy for a home network there. is that a scanner on your SEXCOPTER? can that be shared, or whenever someone needs to scan, they need to go to your station?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 3:41 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
I have a similar topology with the two printers (color and laser) and scanner hooked up to one main machine and share them out. The optimal solution would be to actually get a small printer server and not have to rely on having that specific machine on when wanting to print.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:05 am 
Professional Dork
Professional Dork
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 1246
Location: Cornhole County
cigar3tte wrote:
pretty heavy for a home network there. is that a scanner on your SEXCOPTER? can that be shared, or whenever someone needs to scan, they need to go to your station?


I'm the only one who scans anything, and if my wife needs something scanned, she does it by handing it to me and says "Scan this"

;)

I've thought about a print server, but it's not a high priority for me right now....


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DSL networking questions
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 5:16 pm 
The Logik! Bot
The Logik! Bot

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:50 pm
Posts: 29
Location: NJ
victorl19 wrote:
Would the connection be 24/7 like cable or would each computer have to dial up everytime they want to connect?


DSL, with PPPoE is effectively a dial-once connection, after which it is always on. And it dials very quickly.

For all intents and purposes, it is an always on connection. Just about every router/firewall supports PPPoE.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group