Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 8:18 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Crazy router troubles.
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:47 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
This is crazy... Ive had this Dlink DI-604 for over a year now, and I havn't had any troubles as of yet. Its connected to a thomson cable modem to comcast. I have updated the firmware but that was months ago and no trouble up till now.

Now all the sudden it just won't work. It routes traffic properly and all between computers. But when I tell it to renew IP it just says "timeout" I'm pretty darn sure comcast doesnt care about home lans or it would have lost ALOT of buisiness by now. I havn't changed its MAC address since I first got it and havn't screwed with settings in over 2 weeks. I reset the troublesome thing and even checked the cable connecting the router to the cable modem with my cable checker... still nothin.

Any ideas as to what might have happened? My comp is clean and the only one hooked up to the router (right now im just using the modem straight to my comp).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 8:41 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
You try rebooting the cable modem? I had a similar situation where my sh1t ran solid for 2 years, then suddenly I couldn't grab an IP...rebooted the modem and oila! it worked.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 2:20 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
I dunno, I reset both of the damn things several times and nothin.

About an hour ago I said "fuck it" and used my wired/wirless linksys router, which works. I dont want to but I think I'm going to have to manually configure this sumbitch, IP, subnet, DNS and all.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:39 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:44 pm
Posts: 513
Location: Vancouver Island
urmumsacow wrote:
I dunno, I reset both of the damn things several times and nothin.

About an hour ago I said "fuck it" and used my wired/wirless linksys router, which works. I dont want to but I think I'm going to have to manually configure this sumbitch, IP, subnet, DNS and all.


Unplug one at a time for 30 seconds or more and see if that helps.

Try downgrading the firmware to the last firmware that worked, then move up again and see if that reproduces the problem.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 6:31 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 11:38 am
Posts: 1258
Location: config t
I have the same router. I upgraded the Firmware to latest version and it runs fine. I would do a hard reset of the router (use a paper clip in the little hole and hold for 30 seconds) blowing it all away. Then do a DHCP release and renew in the router.

As long as you have latest Firmware should work. I think they released an even newer version recently.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 7:21 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
Alright people, I guess I owe you an explination.

As it turns out it looks like the MAC address simply didn't wanna work. I have no clue why but it looks like the MAC address was banned from my ISP or something :shock:

Seriously, once I changed the wired DLink routers MAC to the same as the wireless ones it was able to obtain an IP.
When I set the wireless routers MAC to the DLink's old one, you guessed it, nothin. Couldn't obtain an IP.

Its crazy but by using a different MAC address I was able to get it working. Darn shame though cause now my IP address is big jumble of numbers, my last one was symetrical and easy to remember (all octets were 2 numbers and sort of flowed to each other). This one is a mess. :(


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 5:16 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:44 pm
Posts: 513
Location: Vancouver Island
InstigatorX wrote:
I have the same router. I upgraded the Firmware to latest version and it runs fine. I would do a hard reset of the router (use a paper clip in the little hole and hold for 30 seconds) blowing it all away. Then do a DHCP release and renew in the router.

As long as you have latest Firmware should work. I think they released an even newer version recently.


You need to only hit the reset button for 10 seconds, and/or pull the power lead for 30 secs and it will do a reset.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 5:17 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:44 pm
Posts: 513
Location: Vancouver Island
urmumsacow wrote:
Alright people, I guess I owe you an explination.

As it turns out it looks like the MAC address simply didn't wanna work. I have no clue why but it looks like the MAC address was banned from my ISP or something :shock:

Seriously, once I changed the wired DLink routers MAC to the same as the wireless ones it was able to obtain an IP.
When I set the wireless routers MAC to the DLink's old one, you guessed it, nothin. Couldn't obtain an IP.

Its crazy but by using a different MAC address I was able to get it working. Darn shame though cause now my IP address is big jumble of numbers, my last one was symetrical and easy to remember (all octets were 2 numbers and sort of flowed to each other). This one is a mess. :(


Nice to see it's working.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.