Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: no internet connections
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 6:00 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
ipconfig shows all valid numbers, and be released and renewed, but cannot ping google or anything

also, the "set up a home or office network" does not finnish



win xp home


problem is that the computer cannot connect to the internet...what do you think i should do to make it able to connect?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 6:02 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
What are the results of your ipcofnig /all


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 8:11 pm 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
give your hardware specs and ill see what i can do help you out. do you have a router? firewall? etc.etc.etc. how many computers are connected to your network? do you have a cable modem? adsl?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Same trouble
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:36 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 8:31 am
Posts: 6
Location: Mich
IMy problem is this, I can run "Network Wizard" and it runs fine closes down and reboots, however after this I can no longer conn to ISP, running Win ME with a D-Link Router for cable modem, I have done this 3X and get the same trouble.

Mott


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 10:29 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
Still need more info to completely T-shoot...but when you say you are trying to ping a host, are you using the host name or the IP. You could possibly be having DNS problems.

try pinging one of Googles IPs: 216.239.57.99

If that works and pinging www.google.com doesn't. Then it could be (and most likely is) DNS related.

If you can't ping the IP, the try a traceroute and see where your packets are hitting the floor...[Windoze is tracert]

make sure you can at least hit your router.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 12:34 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
have you tried pinging the IP addresses instead of the domain names? could be a DNS issue.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.