Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Dec 28, 2014 9:29 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

which equipment are you using and why
netgear 8%  8%  [ 2 ]
d-link 4%  4%  [ 1 ]
2wire 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
other - reply and tell what u got 8%  8%  [ 2 ]
linksys 79%  79%  [ 19 ]
Total votes : 24
Author Message
 Post subject: which equipment and why
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:14 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 106
Location: iowa
Which networking gear are you using and why?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:43 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 106
Location: iowa
im using linksys, just because of all the options


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 9:44 pm 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
im usin linksys. my first router, someone recommended me it back then. never let me down yet and its working great.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: which equipment and why
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 9:46 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 4:04 pm
Posts: 987
Location: Earth
Jameschoun wrote:
Which networking gear are you using and why?


Linksys. I've always loved their products, as I have never been disappointed with their stuff.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 7:16 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
I was using an SMC Marricade....until that crapped out..haven't replaced that yet...probably won't for a while as I have no need. The adapter I have is built in with a 4 port and seems to be working for what I'm doing.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:37 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 3:44 pm
Posts: 216
Netgear router, onboard gigabit nic. Netgear because it was cheap :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 11:51 am 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Been using Linksys and 3Com since 1995.

Aviod D-Link like a hooker with an STD.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:31 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 11:14 am
Posts: 14
Location: Canada
Got an original Linksys BEFSR41 when they first came out.

...Of course it was close to 2 years before it and my ADSL worked together.

No other problems with the thing, though for some reason it has started locking up once every week or two in the last few months. Maybe it's crapping out finally..

<=T=


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 12:09 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
I've been using Dlink now for 7 years...main reason for me is asthetics...In order to best reach all the areas of my house (via wireless) I need to place my CPE in the kitchen...so I wanted the smallest, best looking, best matching equip I could find...both times, it was Dlink.

I'm sure most manus do this now, but the 108Mbps wireless was a must also.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 5:46 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:34 am
Posts: 78
Location: Virginia
From what ive seen linksys has the best antennas, although i might be moving to apple airport soon. I actually switched from my linksys to netgear a while ago and i had to put the antennas from the Linksys onto the netgear just to get a decent signal. Although you can't do that with the Netgear G router:(


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 11:44 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:44 pm
Posts: 513
Location: Vancouver Island
I use a Linksys BESFR41 router as my core switch at the moment. I am using an IPCOP router http://www.ipcop.org as my boundary device and it works beautifully. Before that my Linksys worked flawless EXCEPT for VPN connections. The IPCOP support VPN connections without a hitch, which is just another reason why I'm using it (next to it's native IPTABLE firewall, and the fact it's probably the most configurable, and free solution out there).

Anyway...my NIC's are Linksys, except for the IPCOP machine which has one netgear 10baseT card for the IPCOP red interface. Keeping your vendor's in line can help with standards compatibility problems, especially in wireless products.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 3:12 am 
Solid as a rock
Solid as a rock
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:15 am
Posts: 396
Linksys. I had it for the past year. I tested a Dlink and quickly switched back.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: which equipment and why
PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 3:59 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 11:30 am
Posts: 89
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Jameschoun wrote:
Which networking gear are you using and why?
I'm using a Linksys BEFSR41 V1 router that I've had for about five years, because it still works.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 10:11 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:57 am
Posts: 12
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Linksys,
Just a good name and at the time got 45.00 off and a 10% discount

Never had a problem with it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 2:25 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Anyone know what happened to 3Com?

Did they pull out of the business or are they only making integrated NIC chips from now on? They don't seem to be mainstream anymore or mentioned in any hardware news.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 2:50 pm 
In the lab!
In the lab!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 10:47 am
Posts: 831
Location: Secret Laboratory
Dlink cards and a linksys wap...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 8:38 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 11:38 am
Posts: 1258
Location: config t
Flytrap7 wrote:
Aviod D-Link like a hooker with an STD.


Hehe, I have a D-link DI-604. Good router after I flashed it.

Before that..

If I had it to do all over again I would have chosen Cisco/Linksys


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.