Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:44 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: trouble flashing belkin n300
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 3:30 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 565
I got the Belkin Share Max N300 but I want to get the dd-wrt/Tomato in it. I'm not too knowledgeable about the little things of networking so I ran into trouble.

I tried to the instructions here:
http://tsengf.blogspot.com/2012/05/dd-w ... -n300.html
http://www.fatwallet.com/forums/hot-dea ... #m16829390

I got into the CFE one time and tried to upload the dd-wrt Mini firmware but it just kept "loading" for over 30 minutes. I canceled the upload. The router still works with the belkin FW so it doesn't seem broken. I haven't been able to get into CFE again.

Questions:
[1] When I want to do the 30-30-30 thing, is my router connected via ethernet cable to the computer only? Will the modem power on again after letting go of the RESET button? Should I have my Westell 6100 modem connected with it also?

[2] How do I change the network and netmask in linux? One guide says to change to "set your IP Address to 192.168.2.8 with a gateway of 192.168.2.1" and another guide says "Set the static IP of your computer to 192.168.2.8 with a netmask of 255.255.255.0. " Which should I use and whats the difference?


Thanks guys. I'm a complete network noob. Google only got me so far.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: trouble flashing belkin n300
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 6:08 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:04 am
Posts: 90
The router doesn't need to be connected to ANYTHING during the 30-30-30 reset, just the AC plugged in and out according to the procedure.

The only thing that matter when setting a static IP on the computer (the one connected to the router's ethernet port) is the IP address and netmask, the gateway is irrelevant. So assuming the router is 192.168.2.1/255.255.255.0, you can specify 192.168.2.2/255.255.255.0 for your computer. That places both the router and your PC in the same network.

And btw, make sure you're connected to a LAN port, not the WAN port.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: trouble flashing belkin n300
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:27 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 565
I'm still not having any luck getting dd-wrt on it. I was able to get to the CFE but I let it upload the dd-wrt mini after 10-20 minutes. Then I set the static IP to 192.168.1.8 with a netmask of 255.255.255.0 and went to 192.168.1.1. But the page wouldn't load.

When I finish the 30-30-30 and let go of reset, the light on the router is turned off. Is that supposed to be how it is? I was able to get to the CFE with the light off but I'm not sure if anything gets uploaded. If I turn it off and on again after 30-30-30, I am not able to get into CFE.

So confusing :(


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: trouble flashing belkin n300
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 3:02 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:04 am
Posts: 90
It’s hard to provide much guidance since the process is fairly straight forward and you seem to have followed all the right steps.

All I can suggest is two other options. Either update the firmware using TFTP, or else directly via the Belkin UI. Frankly, I’ve been updating firmware on various routers for years and TFTP has usually worked. And I wouldn’t be surprised if just using the Belkin UI did too.

Once the router is in CFE mode, try using TFTP. In Windows 7, you need to add the TFTP client by going to Control Panel->Programs->Programs and Features->Turn Windows features on or off, and check TFTP (might want to check telnet too, could come in handy later). Now from a command line, type the following:

tftp -i 192.168.2.1 put <filename>

Note: Be sure you’re in the directory w/ the file before executing the command, because it does NOT accept a path, only a filename.

You can do the same thing w/ Linux if you prefer, although I don’t recall if TFTP is preinstalled or not, and the TFTP syntax might be slightly different (same rule applies about being in the same directory though).

Wait for the upload to complete and router to reboot (could take several minutes). Once it’s done, try connecting to the router on the dd-wrt IP, 192.168.1.1.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group