Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Gb Teaming & Transfer Expectations
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 12:11 pm 

I've been chasing better LAN speeds for about 6 months now and have finally come to the conclusion that I am just plain stumped.

I keep all of my media and home movies on a dedicated server that in turn file shares out to 5 workstations 2 laptops and 2 media PCs as well as a secondary server (for Backup). I store all of my DVDs and Blue-Ray as pure ISOs on the main server and mount the images at the media and end PCs. With that method the LAN stays very consistent with no noticeable impact with several machines pulling at once. However, I've noticed that multiple regular file transfers can eat the LAN alive.

The entire system is Gb and wired using Cat6.
Router: Net Gear WNDR4000
Switch 1: D-Link DGS-1224T 24port
Switch 2: NetGear JGS524 24port
Server : Xeon E3-1245 on a ASUS P8B WS /16GB DDR3 1333
Server OS is on a OCZ Revo X2 120Gb /Win Server 2008 R2 Ent
Array: Areca 1260 w/12 WD black 7200 1.5TB drives / Raid 5
The 2 port Intel server NICs are Teamed

Prior, the server was built around a ASUS Rampage Formula and a 9650 using the same Areca and drives. My primary system is an ASUS P6T deluxe/Intel 940/12GB DDR3 1600/OCZ Revo X2 240. And 3x 500GB WD 7200 -Raid 0/ Intel ET Dual port server NIC