Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 4:54 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Setting up a LAN with two separate net connections
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 8:05 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:51 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Flamin' the kitty since 198433.
I currently have two separate computers (one my main rig, the other a folding rig/server) each with its own 'net connection. I live in a dorm, and the 'net connection to my main PC is an ethernet broadband connection (cable/DSL modem-less) that does not support routers (it's MAC-specific, and I don't have a router anyway). The other connection also does not support routers, and it's hooked up to my folding rig. I have a 10/100 switch and a 10BaseT hub and I want the two computers (which, with their separate 'net connections, are on totally different VLANs as designated by my university) to be able to see each other on a LAN (ideally, I want them to show up in the same workgroup). I have plenty of NICs lying around, but I'd rather not set up ICS because I want to be able to leave my folding rig, you know, folding, while my main PC is off.

The folding rig is running Win2000, and the main PC is XP Pro. How might I accomplish this?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 8:08 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
Simple, get a router and clone your pc's mac address. Just about all the new ones will let you.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 8:19 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:51 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Flamin' the kitty since 198433.
urmumsacow wrote:
Simple, get a router and clone your pc's mac address. Just about all the new ones will let you.

I understand that. Thanks for the advice, but, like I said, I'm looking for an ass-backwards hack.

I'd also rather not share the bandwidth of my broadband connection between the two of them. I've owned and used and configured dual-wan routers, and they did not work as I wanted them to. Anyway, I said that neither of these connections support routers--especially the one that's not MAC-specific, ironically.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 8:38 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
You got extra nic's? an ethernet cable and FTP connection is all you'll need (unless you want windows interaction)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 9:12 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:51 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Flamin' the kitty since 198433.
Thanks again for the tip... I just downgraded from Win2000 Advanced Server to Win2000 Pro and now everything's working exactly how I want. I have two NICs in the folding rig, one connected to the school's Internet (not my broadband) and one connected to the 10/100 switch. The switch's uplink port is connected to my broadband connection, and my main rig is connected to that switch, too.

Everything's working like a charm! :D


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.