Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:19 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Netgear WGR614- is it worthless?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:13 am 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
Netgear WGR614 this is the router I have, it is pissing me off. Libra's Cavalier was connecting to it no problems, last night I installed the wireless card in the laptop, now that one is having issues connecting. Neither can "see" my network. There is no security on, never has been. I see someone else's Linksys network with security, but can't get a signal from mine.

WG511- card in laptop

WG311T -Libras adapter

I'll be looking to upgrade firmware today when I get back from the Dr, I never had an issue with this router until now.

***edit- Info I forgot to add- Libra's room is right next to the computer room, about 20 feet away- 1 wall between, the laptop is next to the router, and last night in the livingroom about 50 ft away.

Help! Does anyone have any ideas of what I should do?



Blondie, who is rushing to get ready to get out of here.....


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:45 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
not that i care blondie, but it is policy not to use cussing in thread titles, in the text its fine, but in titles its looked down upon.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 6:42 am 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
athlon11 wrote:
not that i care blondie, but it is policy not to use cussing in thread titles, in the text its fine, but in titles its looked down upon.


I'm so pissed off, I didn't even realize I wrote it, if I could edit my own post title, I would. If I deserve to be punished, so be it.

I have to leave, still no wireless :twisted: :cry:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 7:02 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9214
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
have you gone into windows networking and done a repair, this works for me most of the time

i have 3 wireless networks close to me, and sometimes i have to select the network thats mine by hand, windows or the network gets confused and wont connect until i manually select it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 11:58 am 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
g.m.waters (red ranger3) wrote:
have you gone into windows networking and done a repair, this works for me most of the time

i have 3 wireless networks close to me, and sometimes i have to select the network thats mine by hand, windows or the network gets confused and wont connect until i manually select it.


I tried everything this morning. It was one of those mornings where I had too much to do before leaving & freaked. I had a lot of MPC forum pages open with posts I wanted to reply to when I got back, so I didn't want to restart. Wouldn't you know it, when I got home, I shut them all down, then unplugged the router & modem for 5 minutes, rebooted, all was fine- damn I hate that!

Oh well, 4 hours wasted that I could have been doing my paperwork :cry:

I should know better! :?

I think I will try to get the security (WEP) enabled though, too many new networks here.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:05 pm 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
athlon11 wrote:
not that i care blondie, but it is policy not to use cussing in thread titles, in the text its fine, but in titles its looked down upon.


I've pm'd Colby to ask if she'd be so nice as to edit the title for me.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:57 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:41 am
Posts: 11605
I just bought the same router last week. It works great for me. I just did what the install guide said, turn on modem ::walk away, clean up paper/plastic from new monitor and router:: turn on router ::walk away, do some dishes:: turn on server and laptop. All is peachy.

It is a Linksys card, Netgear router...

I just turned on MAC filtering for now... I havent had time to play with setting up the WEP.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 12:45 pm 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
We've had this for over a year. So far the kid's computer is fine but the laptop loses the connection. No big deal right now, it's not being used for anything but folding.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:37 pm 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:41 am
Posts: 11605
I picked up a netgear router for my dad... and ever once in a while he needs to reset the router... no idea why...

which made me hesitant to buy this router, but I figured it was just a fluke, and so far, I am very happy with it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:41 pm 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
It doesn't happen often, I had more problems with the linksys router I had.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group