Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:33 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: XP VM inside Win 7 Pro
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 3:24 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 4:15 pm
Posts: 649
Location: Overland Park, KS
OK guys, I set up an XP home install in a VM (VMWare) on my Win 7 pro rig. Works great. Question is, how can I get the VM, and thus XP, to see my network and my server? One of the reasons I set up XP was to be able to use an older version of Nero to burn DVD's, and the files I need to burn are on the server. Help! :)

atr


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 7:10 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
There really could be a variety of things to you could do based on how you set things up and since you're not offer much detail as to what you did, I'm going to think you just need to setup your adapter for bridged networking.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 7:28 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 4:15 pm
Posts: 649
Location: Overland Park, KS
furball146 wrote:
There really could be a variety of things to you could do based on how you set things up and since you're not offer much detail as to what you did, I'm going to think you just need to setup your adapter for bridged networking.


Tell me what detailed info you need and I will give it to you. This is my first time installing a copy of Windows inside a VM, so I don't rally know what is going to be needed to troubleshoot it. I have several folding VMs, but I didn't configure the network for them...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 7:45 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
How about starting with which version of VMware you loaded...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 12:54 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 4:15 pm
Posts: 649
Location: Overland Park, KS
furball146 wrote:
How about starting with which version of VMware you loaded...


OK. It's VMWare Player version 3.0.1 build 227600. The host OS shows as Windows 7 Professional 64 bit (build 7600) 6.1.7600. The OS inside the VM is Win XP Home, and I updated it to SP3 with all security updates.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:05 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
So what's your device manager in XP Home look like? Anything in there regarding a network card?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: XP VM inside Win 7 Pro
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:59 pm 
Windows 7 Pro Outreach Team
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 7:00 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Redmond, WA
atrdriver wrote:
OK guys, I set up an XP home install in a VM (VMWare) on my Win 7 pro rig. Works great. Question is, how can I get the VM, and thus XP, to see my network and my server? One of the reasons I set up XP was to be able to use an older version of Nero to burn DVD's, and the files I need to burn are on the server. Help! :)

atr


ATRDRIVER, I want to direct you to some resources we have on XP mode and networking. To learn more about Windows XP Mode, you can visit bit.ly/winxpmode. You can also go to http://bit.ly/XPModeVideos to see videos on Windows XP Mode. There's a feature called Windows Connect Now in Windows 7 Professional that walks you through connecting to a network--there's video about it at http://bit.ly/Win7ProConnectNetwork. More info about how it works is at http://bit.ly/ConnectNow. There's also a way to share printers and libraries of files with other machines on a home network with HomeGroup in Windows 7 Professional. The video at http://bit.ly/Win7ProNetworking has more info, and there's a FAQ at http://bit.ly/HmGFAQ. If you're having trouble viewing computers or shared files in your HomeGroup the page at http://bit.ly/HGTrbl explains how to open the HomeGroup troubleshooter, to help make sure your machine's network services are running OK (and that your computer actually is a member of a homegroup). If you want a detailed explanation of how HomeGroup works, there's a good video at http://bit.ly/HGShare. Hope this helps. Andrea H. Windows 7 Professional Outreach Team @Win7ProSB


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group