Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:26 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: wireless network problems
PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 9:30 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
well i got an old laptop(pentium 1 100Mhz 40MB ram, 6GB HDD) from a friend on monday, and on wednesday i got a belkin wireless card for it. my mobo Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe, has built on wireless that can act as an access point. so i get the network setup, and it works great ecept for one problem. when i try to use the internet on my laptop after a few minutes i get disconnected from the internet, even though i still have full signal strength. the card in my laptop has the latest drivers, and is running windows 2000 pro, and my comp has the latest drivers. the only thing i can think of it, there is an option on my comps wireless software to enable Internet connection sharing, which i shouldn't need since my wireless card is bridged to my onboard NIC that is connected to my wired router


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 1:59 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
could it be in the power settings on the laptop(OS or BIOS)?

BTW I have never used a laptop, so forgive me if I am talking out of my ass.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wireless network problems
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:57 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
toidiochysp wrote:
when i try to use the internet on my laptop after a few minutes i get disconnected from the internet, even though i still have full signal strength.

toidiochysp wrote:
the only thing i can think of it, there is an option on my comps wireless software to enable Internet connection sharing, which i shouldn't need since my wireless card is bridged to my onboard NIC that is connected to my wired router


doubt that's it...since your laptop CAN access the Internet via the workstation initially...then cuts out.

sounds like it could be a config problem...maybe on the worstation-side.?.?.? I had a similar problem that turned out to be the 'preamble' setting needing to be switched form 'long' to 'short' (or vice-a-versa can't remember).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 11:30 am 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Check the power saving options on the laptop


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 11:02 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
Flytrap7 wrote:
Check the power saving options on the laptop


i checked that,

and the preamble on both are set to auto


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 4:47 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
quick update, i switched which onboard NIC i was bridged to yesturday and i was able to stay connected for 34 minutes :) of course i can stay connected for 24/7 through VNC


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group