Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 11:22 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows Home Server
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 3:38 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 5:40 pm
Posts: 340
I have downloaded and installed Windows Home Server 30 day trial on an older Pentium 4 computer.

The final instruction after installation is to use the WHS CD to setup computers to access the server. When I insert the CD into the DVD of another computer it opens a set of instructions about installing WHS. If I rebooted with the WHS disk in the DVD it would erase my hard drive and install WHS on another computer.

I can't guess what I need to install to access my WHS. I'm running Windows 7. When I open the Network it does not show the WHS.

What next?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 5:00 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 311
Location: VA Beach, VA
Well you could map the network drive. You can also use remote desktop to control the server. The whs has a built in console you can download and install on machines. Pretty nice tool that is quick and easy to set up back ups and do some quick checks.

Is your server in the same network group name as your pc? Might be why you are not seeing it, hard to say with out knowing what's in your network. WHS is a good product you can have lots of fun with it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Home Server
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 5:04 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
BRubble wrote:
The final instruction after installation is to use the WHS CD to setup computers to access the server


It actually said use the "Windows Home Server Connector Software CD" (not the WHS CD). You can find that here

http://www.microsoft.com/DOWNLOADS/deta ... laylang=en


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 6:36 pm 
Million Club [PC]*
Million Club [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4914
Location: Motor City, folding for Mom
There are two (maybe three) problems here.

First: as furball said, you run the WHS Connector disc on a client PC, not the WHS install disc.
However, you don't get that disc with the trial. (More on that in a bit.)

Second: Make sure that the WHS box and your client PCs all have the same workgroup name. If it's not the same, the WHS just won't show up in Network.

Third: before you start joining clients to the WHS, you should first make sure that the WHS itself is fully patched.
When you're logged in at its desktop (locally): start the WHS Console. Go to Settings > Updates. Keep checking for (and applying) updates, rebooting as needed, until it's fully patched.
Do not use Windows Update.

Once the workgroup name is sorted out.... On a client PC, open Network (or the Run box), and go to \\<servername>\Software\Home Server Connector Software. Run Setup.exe. This will install the WHS Connector on that client.
(FYI, for future use: Use this, rather than the version that comes on CD (it's bundled in the WHS disc package that you buy.) The Connector is updated from time to time - the client PCs need to always be runnning the latest version that's on your WHS.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 11:49 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 5:40 pm
Posts: 340
I'm making progress (I hope.)

I found a newer version on the Microsoft website. I have downloaded that one and am in the process of installing it instead.

Also they say,

"To install the Windows Home Server Connector software on a home computer, you need to open a Web browser on a home computer, and type http://servername:55000, where "servername" is the name you gave your home server. You do not need the Windows Home Server Connector CD to install the Connector software. Repeat the software installation on each network computer."


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 6:15 pm 
Million Club [PC]*
Million Club [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4914
Location: Motor City, folding for Mom
That would be another way to install the Connector, yes.
I actually forget that it's there.... :lol:


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.