Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:09 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to connect two computers in the same room?
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 10:04 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:39 am
Posts: 24
Yeah, I was wondering what's the best way to connect two computers in the same room. Internet doesn't count. I was more thinking about wireless LAN or maybe normal LAN. It's just that I don't know whether for two computers only, one needs a router of some kind?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 11:28 am 
Monkey Fed [PC]
Monkey Fed [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:53 pm
Posts: 7076
Do you already have a DSL/Cable modem? Do you have a router or a switch? Do you have provisions for ethernet, or will you have to go wireless? Need a little bit more information on what you already have installed before we can get you good answer.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 11:51 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:39 am
Posts: 24
Quote:
Do you already have a DSL/Cable modem?

No.

Quote:
Do you have a router or a switch?

No.

Quote:
Do you have provisions for ethernet

I think not.

Quote:
or will you have to go wireless?

My friend said that I should simply buy a wireless USB stick. Would it be possible to connect two computers just with two wireless USB sticks? So, without a wireless router or wireless switch? My friend and I want to play games on those computers. I hope the lag isn't too bad with it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 12:43 pm 
Monkey Fed [PC]
Monkey Fed [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:53 pm
Posts: 7076
Wireless USB sticks would work, as would wireless PCI or PCI-E cards. You could also use a Crossover Ethernet cable if the PC's are close to each other. If the PC's are close, then the ethernet cable is your cheapest and fastest option by far. The wireless option is slower, more expensive, but it will work the best if the PC's are far apart.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 2:43 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
Agreed.

A simple 5 port switch and a couple of ethernet cables would be significantly cheaper and the switch itself may come with short length of cat6 anyways.

Even something like this would work for just transferring files

http://www.google.com/products/catalog? ... DEQ8wIwAg#


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 8:49 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:39 am
Posts: 24
I think I will go for 2 Ethernet cables and one 5 port 10/100 switch. I'm afraid that wireless could be too slow. Thanks for help. :o


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 6:31 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 6:19 am
Posts: 1420
Location: Malware Removal GOD
If all you want to do is, connect two machines only. Get a cross over cable and plug it into each NIC port. Then enable file sharing and your done.

However, should you wish to setup an entire network with more than two machines? Get a switch, plug in straight through cables (a regular NIC cable) and then enable file sharing and your done.

If you do not want to have all the computers on at the same time and only have one. Setup a single computer and installed Server 2003 or 2008. Setup a basic Active Directory on a domain and implement a file server to store files. You then need to create a few user accounts and setup a group or two, etc... and your done.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 7:39 am 
Hired Gun
Hired Gun
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 8:29 pm
Posts: 6409
Location: N 47° 04.525 W 122° 17.315
FYI modern Network Cards and Switches are auto-sensing so Crossover/Straight through cables are irrelevant in most cases. However having a crossover and several straight through's on hand is always a good idea just in case, since they are so cheap.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:47 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Phelan, CA
The way I do it if I don't have a router and I don't use a crossover cable

All you need if just 1 ethercable
I use Dual Server which is a DNS and DHCP Server it is opensource
http://sourceforge.net/projects/dhcp-dns-server/
I set this up on one PC, then you can do what ever you want to do. If you need help with the config file you can PM me

If you wanted to do WiFi you would need to do a adhoc network.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:20 am 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
Flipper, bogara007, and everyone else stop it now. I have split out the arguing posts.

The original poster's question was answered and they have not provided any additional information as to whether going with a server is a viable option.

Anyone choosing to pursue an argument after this post will be saddled with a temp ban.

If you have any questions, feel free to send me a PM.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.