Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:46 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: XP/Win7 Network
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:26 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 402
I currently have a Windows 7 desktop and a XP laptop on the same home network. They share files/printer/ect with no problem.

I decided to get around to actually fixing my kids computer and had to reinstall the OS which is XP.

This computer is a desktop with a wireless card sitting 10 feet from my router, so it gets a good signal. But, I can't get it to connect to my network. It connects fine to the internet, but when I try to setup a network on it, it will not change the network name to the correct one. It still calls it "Windows Network" and won't change it.

Any ideas what could be causing this? I've never had this problem with the XP laptop before.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:49 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
Are they in the same workgroup? The system properties should give you the name.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 6:56 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 402
Yes they are.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 8:05 pm 
Million Club [PC]*
Million Club [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4914
Location: Motor City, folding for Mom
Before I try to troubleshoot it any farther, I'd try a simple TCP/IP reset.
Open a command prompt, and type the folowing: netshp int ip reset C:\resetlog.txt
and reboot the box. Try to change the workgroup name again. Work yes/no?

If no, open a command prompt on the problem machine, as well as a working box, and type ipconfig /all
Post the output here, indicating which is which.
(to post a command prompt: right-click anywhere in the window > select all > <Enter>. Contents are now copied to the Clipboard; simply paste into your reply.)

RW, your OP reads that the workgroup name isn't correct ("I can't change it" is what you wrote); however, your reply to Airheadq says otherwise ("they're the same".) Can't be both......


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 3:28 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 402
Thats the odd thing, when I look at the workgroup name, it shows the correct name. But when I tried to add a printer, it shows a different name when I browse for a network printer....


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 3:52 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 402
From the Windows 7 desktop:

Code:
Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Kevin-Desktop
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-18-FE-7B-0D
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f9c0:5e99:89b1:b43e%11(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, April 12, 2010 7:36:29 AM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, April 14, 2010 7:36:29 AM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890776
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-C4-7E-E3-00-26-18-FE-7B-0D

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 205.152.37.23
                                       205.152.150.23
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{9446B63D-1715-498B-91A7-151C254A04DF}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e74:2c1a:2d4:3f57:fe98(Prefe
rred)
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c1a:2d4:3f57:fe98%13(Preferred)
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 3:54 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 402
From the problem machine:

Code:


Windows IP Configuration

        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : kids
        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

        Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-D4-08-4F-27

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : ASUS 802.11g Network Adapter
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-15-7C-57-2D
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.107
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
        DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
        DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 205.152.37.23
                                            205.152.150.23
        Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, April 13, 2010 7:29:45 AM
        Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, April 14, 2010 7:29:45 AM



Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 7:22 pm 
Million Club [PC]*
Million Club [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4914
Location: Motor City, folding for Mom
I'm sorry - been crazy-busy with about a million things lately. Haven't had the time to post in a while.

Did you try doing a TCP/IP reset on the kid's PC yet?

A couple of potential issues that I see (from your ipconfig output):
1- WINS looks to be disabled. Enabling it on each machine can help with local name-resolution issues. This article will show how to enable WINS.
2- DNS. Generally, it's preferable for your router to act as a DNS Forwarder (they have this feature for a reason), rather than each workstation doing DNS lookups directly. Your config can, again, create local name-resolution issues.
Try entering your chosen DNS server addresses into your router config, and change the DHCP options on it to point the clients to the router (rather than directly to BellSouth) for DNS lookups.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group