Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:02 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: how to map network drive over the internet?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 4:20 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 11:51 am
Posts: 78
at home I have two computers that on one of them all
the data.pic.movie ....
on other PC I map network drive and all working fine.
now I want to mount a network drive from the DATA PC
over the internet.
need help with that.
I using a netgear DG834G ADSL modem router
I know I need to use VPN some how but have no clew


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 6:10 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:04 am
Posts: 90
Is this so YOU have remote access back to it at home, make it available to others, both?

You need to explain what you're trying to do, trying to accomplish, in non-technical terms first, then we'll see what technology can best be applied. There may be several options, or some that don't apply at all. But it's really difficult to keep things down to a manageable discussion without being much more specific.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:05 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
Once you're VPN'd in mapping a drive is no different then what you're used to.

Sounds like your question is more along the lines of how to setup a VPN.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:14 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 11:51 am
Posts: 78
furball146 wrote:
Once you're VPN'd in mapping a drive is no different then what you're used to.

Sounds like your question is more along the lines of how to setup a VPN.



VPN (virtual privet network) sound right.
need help with this.
Again>>> I have program that using a spesific drive over the network.
I like to use the program from difrent location but still able to use
the same network drive


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:27 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:04 am
Posts: 90
sherf111 wrote:
furball146 wrote:
Once you're VPN'd in mapping a drive is no different then what you're used to.

Sounds like your question is more along the lines of how to setup a VPN.



VPN (virtual privet network) sound right.
need help with this.
Again>>> I have program that using a spesific drive over the network.
I like to use the program from difrent location but still able to use
the same network drive


LogMeIn Hamachi

https://secure.logmein.com/US/products/hamachi2/

Install it on both the home and remote machines. It installs a virtual network adapter within the 5.x.x.x network. You then create a named network that both the home and remote machines can join. Whalla, like magic you're both connected over a secure connection and have access to any resources on either machine. Simple to install, simple to configure, simple to use. Doesn't even require port management, and no issues w/ the ISP possibly blocking inbound ports (a common problem for traditional VPNs), since it uses a rendezvous server and NAT traversal. And it’s all FREE.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:05 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
sherf111 wrote:
VPN (virtual privet network) sound right.
need help with this.


So what have you tried up to now to try to VPN to your home PC?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:10 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24322
Location: South of heaven
Would not right clicking an empty space in "My Computer" and selecting "add network location" be out of reach here?

Not enough info. I think the other guys know what you're using, but us casual users don't.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:31 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
heh...I really don't know what he's using or doing in connecting back this other PC. and was hoping for something more in a response, but no dice..


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:05 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 11:51 am
Posts: 78
Chumly wrote:
Would not right clicking an empty space in "My Computer" and selecting "add network location" be out of reach here?

Not enough info. I think the other guys know what you're using, but us casual users don't.


At my home PC that what I did "My Computer" and selecting "add network location"
I would like to do the same over the internet.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:06 pm 
Hired Gun
Hired Gun
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 8:29 pm
Posts: 6405
Location: N 47° 04.525 W 122° 17.315
sherf111 wrote:
Chumly wrote:
Would not right clicking an empty space in "My Computer" and selecting "add network location" be out of reach here?

Not enough info. I think the other guys know what you're using, but us casual users don't.


At my home PC that what I did "My Computer" and selecting "add network location"
I would like to do the same over the internet.


Great, now read above where it's explained how to setup a VPN.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group