Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:41 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: When Laptop Connects, Broadband Link Disconnects
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:38 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:42 am
Posts: 131
Okay I have been struggling for the past two hours with a really annoying problem. Here's what happens. My desktop is directly connected to my 2wire 1701HG with an Ethernet and my HP DV7 Laptop is disconnected. The internet on my desktop works perfectly. Then, whenever I connect to my 2wire, my Broadband link (2nd out of 3 lights that should be green) starts to flash orange. Neither my desktop nor my laptop has internet now. This problem happened out of nowhere as I was working on my laptop when the internet disconnected all of a sudden. I tried doing the opposite, unplugging the ethernet from my desktop to my 2wire, and tried to connect to my 2wire with my laptop, and at that point the orange light started to blink again. WTF. I am 17 years old with not much networking experience and extremely pissed off. Someone PLEASE help me with this frustrating problem. Thanks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:57 pm 
Hired Gun
Hired Gun
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 8:29 pm
Posts: 6409
Location: N 47° 04.525 W 122° 17.315
Has the laptop ever been able to get a connection on this router?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:23 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:42 am
Posts: 131
Yes, It has been fully functioning with this particular router (as well as others, just as it should) since I first bought it in December. Today was the first time this problem unexpectedly happened.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:54 pm 
Hired Gun
Hired Gun
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 8:29 pm
Posts: 6409
Location: N 47° 04.525 W 122° 17.315
Have you tried power cycling the modem and the router?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:11 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:42 am
Posts: 131
Okay to clear things up, my 2wire 1701HG has ethernet cables going out to my Desktop and Xbox360 and is wireless, and connects to a phone line. I think it's a router and modem put together? Idk but yes I have turned on and off the power on it atleast 10 times all together and it doesn't do anything.

Situation #1- Laptop NOT connected to my 2wire = All 3 Green Lights
Situation #2- Laptop IS connected to my 2wire = 2 Green Lights, not "Broadband Link" light (middle light).

So yeah this is really weird.. I am hoping my laptop isn't messed up in anyway.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:32 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
So who's your ISP with this modem?

and have you tried to connect the laptop wireless?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:46 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:42 am
Posts: 131
AT&T

And yes, I have been connecting to the internet on my laptop wireless ever since I bought it in December. Now, whenever I do that, my modem/router's Broadband Link signal starts to blink orange, but whenever my laptop ISN'T connected to my network, my internet is fine and there is internet connection on my desktop and xbox360.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:37 pm 
Million Club [PC]*
Million Club [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4914
Location: Motor City, folding for Mom
First thing I'd suggest is checking 2wire's site for a firmware update for the gateway. 50/50 chance at tha, though, as the ISPs themselves often are in control of their gateway firmwares.

Laptop is running Win7, I'm guessing?
Things I'd try doing on it:
1- check HP (or the wireless card's vendor) for a newer driver for its wireless card. Driver recently updated? Try rolling it back to the earlier version.
2- try it wired. If it still borks your gateway, continue on to the next steps (issue is with Windows, not with network adapters or drivers.)

Still borked when wired?
1- disable IPv6, and check function. Note, though, that if you're running a Homegroup, this can only be a troubleshooting step. Homegroup requires IPv6 (you can re-enable it later.)

2- reset the TCP/IP stack on the laptop. To do this: open an Elevated (Administrator) command prompt, and run the following command:
Code:
netsh int ip reset C:\resetlog.txt
and reboot when it's done processing that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:38 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:42 am
Posts: 131
I will post back sometime tomorrow after I try all of the steps. Thanks for now :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:50 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
My only thought is to reset the modem itself (should be a recessed button in the back).

I suspect there's some security in there that's doing this, although I've never really seen one un-train itself.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.