Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 11:23 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I have dialup: please comment
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:42 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:44 pm
Posts: 2
:cry: I HATE DIALUP i get 1 kb upload speeds and 28.8 connection speeds. verizons got the monopolie in this area. when is highspeed coming around! I am not at liberty to move right now. I am not even old enough to be out of the house.


Last edited by Sevron on Thu Dec 04, 2008 5:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:39 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:40 pm
Posts: 679
Location: In the hills of San Diego
MOVE to an area with broadband!!!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:32 am 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 27367
Location: In a cage, dumbass.
I miss my dial up. Ahhh the days when I could drink a whole beer before a page loaded.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:33 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:41 am
Posts: 11605
Yeah... you could move. That might be easier in some cases lol.

Hard to really say when you will get it? Are you far away from a phone switching station? you might be able to get DSL...

Do you have cable near you? Is it digital?

At my mom's the cable provider had digital cable but no internet (something about the infrastructure wasn't there to support the internet and/or it kept breaking all the time) and we had wireless from two different providers. It was reasonably fast. I would put it on the high end for DSL speeds. I think we got 1.2 mbps down and something like 768 kbps up.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:40 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:07 am
Posts: 839
Location: Maryland
What's dialup? :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:52 pm 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24222
Location: Granite Heaven
I've no idea! Even my cellphone has broadband. :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:14 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:40 pm
Posts: 679
Location: In the hills of San Diego
If I had to I would use my cell phone as a modem for faster than dial-up. I recently moved to an area that has no cable or dsl. We have a local provider that has line of site microwave that ties back to a T1 so the speeds are descent I get about 3.5 each way.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:56 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24222
Location: Granite Heaven
3.5 ... what? MB/s? Mb/s? KB/s?

That is either REALLY good or insanely horrible. :lol:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:52 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:40 pm
Posts: 679
Location: In the hills of San Diego
Sorry I am so used to talking to work people and we always give it in Mbs.

I once did an install with a Hybrid modem(phone and internet) and ran a speedtest when I was done, the wiring in the house was a bit old so I wanted to make sure it would not be a problem. The first test I did showed a download speed of 66Mbs, so I ran it again and it was 59Mbs, third time is was an unreal 88Mbs. Our top speed is only 12Mbs, just something odd and random I thought I would share.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I have dialup: please comment
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 6:25 am 
Loves hairy feet
Loves hairy feet
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 7:02 pm
Posts: 573
Location: In my Garden
Sevron wrote:
:cry: I HATE DIALUP i get 1 kb upload speeds and 28.8 connection speeds. verizons got the monopolie in this area. when is highspeed coming around! I am not at liberty to move right now. I am not even old enough to be out of the house.


there are 2 things you can do to help out your speed situation.

1. at 28.8, that means there is a lot of interference on your lines. Most likely, this is coming from within the house. Get a phone cord that is long enough to go from the modem to the phone-box outside and plug it in directly there. That bypassess all the lines in the house and guaruntees you a better connection.

2. depending on the modem you have, you can put an init string into the modem settings that will help you with your connection. assuming you have a typical softmodem, follow these steps: (assumes you have windows XP)

click on start - control panel - phone and modem options - modems - properties

the first thing to click on is the modem tab. on maximum port speed, set it to 57600. then click on advanced. in extra initialization settings, put in the following command. AT&F&C1&D2+MS=v90,0


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:36 pm 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Posts: 1156
Jipstyle wrote:
3.5 ... what? MB/s? Mb/s? KB/s?

That is either REALLY good or insanely horrible. :lol:


It gets even better if you live in the St. Paul area or most parts of New England when you can get 50 Mb/s for $142.95 (I personally think it is highway robbery). Now that 3 Mb/s become nothing. :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: re
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:37 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 1457
Gee, I don't think I even have a modem left??? I used to save them, but I think they all made their way to the PC recycling center....


I do know what it's like. Didn't get DSL up until about 3 years ago. Never going back to dial up. but look on the bright side: it's better than nothing.

That and if you have something like Verizon Wireless cell phone service and a PDA phone, sometimes you can use it as a broadband modem for about $30 a month (do this only if you can't get at least DSL for that much). Not the best, but an easy fix and isn't going to cost an arm and a leg to get. I think Sprint and US Cellular may have something similar. I personally have the Palm Centro 690 with Verizon and it's OK for emergencies when the DSL goes down. But it caps out at 5GB per month bandwidth, though.

And if your buying something online, it may very well be faster to drive and get it yourself physically............


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group